Ground to Naval power projection

Moderator: JaggedAppliance

Ground to Naval power projection

Postby seaeagle1 » 13 Apr 2020, 23:32

I'm just a big noob, but while getting to (re)learn the game, I've been wondering whether I'm missing something, if there's an intentional choice or if there's just an option missing. So perhaps you can enlighten me here:

It seem to me that there's a fairly decent 'power projection' between the various domains of the FAF battlefield: (mobile or static) AA/SAMs can deny airspace pretty well, Airplanes can wreak havoc on land or on sea and Navies have powerful AA and long-range land-attack options. This means that if you dominate one of these domains, you can use it to attack another, but the opposing party can still mount a decent defence if he/she's in sufficient control of that other domain (ie. you can win air and bomb stuff with strats, but the other player can deny you areas by building/parking a bunch of AA).

But I'm having a bit of a problem finding a good land-to-sea (denial) weapon... T2 artillery seems to be the primary option, but so far it seems like you need to build a considerable battery to make a piece of sea seriously dangerous, and even then it's typically just outranged by cruise-missiles. I've had some success with the Aeon T2 PD against frigates due to its range, since that's virtually the same weapon as on the destroyer. Hover-tanks seem to be able to do a decent job in a pinch, but that also depends a lot on the composition of the fleet you're dealing with (ie. if there's ships with a high rate of fire in there). So far the best option I've seen is the HARMS, which is sub-to-surface, but is Cybran-only and well, not exactly on land.

Shouldn't there be something like a shore-to-ship missile? In the real-world guided missiles like the Exocet or Harpoon seem to be the primary anti-ship weapons and thoroughly feared as a sea-denial tool within their range.
seaeagle1

Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time