What the f*** is a navy

Moderator: PhilipJFry

What the f*** is a navy

Postby Kalavinka » 12 Jan 2017, 13:41

Hey guys. 60 games noob here, 3.33 win ratio rating ~400.

I've recently gotten the hang of small maps and their insipid land factory spam. However, when it comes to large maps...

I have no clue what I'm doing.

I've lost every naval battle I've ever fought. I thought the sane thing to do was spam like 6 naval factories and have them pump out an even number of subs and frigates, but that hasn't been going too well for me. The enemy has either had more or already pumped out like 5 T2 destroyers to my 1 when it comes time to fight.

What should I be doing, from scratch, on navy maps?

I play just about every faction, but mostly Seraphim. Advice would be appreciated.
Kalavinka
Crusader

Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 12 times
FAF User Name: Kalavinka

Re: What the f*** is a navy

Postby biass » 12 Jan 2017, 13:53

Q: What is a navy?
A: does it water?
if yes, it is a navy

On a serious note about navy, basic concepts apply, don't fall behind on tech/unit count if you can etc, making 6 factories wont help you if your enemy makes 9, blah blah
Ecoing and making higher tech navy at the same time can give a more extreme consequence on low mass maps, make sure to choose correctly

Frigates are normally considered a better choice then subs, but frigs cannot kill subs, so you can choose to force your enemy to make subs/other by making subs, or you make subs to react to his subs (this is t1 stage, t2 subs have a bit more complexity) frigates are also still used on higher tech levels, as aa dps or meatshields

spamming engineers for buildpower on factories is always a must have, so that boats dont take forever to build

also making sonar, T3 sonar is real cheap and the range it gives is massive, build them!

im sure someone else can elaborate on it further (seton mains incoming) but these are some basic notes
Map thread: https://bit.ly/2PBsa5H