Very hard game against a turtle

Moderator: PhilipJFry

Very hard game against a turtle

Postby Flynn » 24 Dec 2016, 22:03

I have been playing against this guy since 2013 and I always get frustratingly close to beating him. I nearly did in this game, but somehow he annihilated me.

I always feel like I've got him beaten and then he builds up and smashes me.

It's a four leaf clover game and I tried every trick in the book to beat this guy but he built up a huge number of Januses and wrecked my economy somehow. He puts me under so much stress every time I play him and he drags the game out in such a horrible way.

5572466-Flynn.fafreplay
(92.17 KiB) Downloaded 142 times
Flynn
Evaluator

Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 8 times
FAF User Name: Flynn

Re: Very hard game against a turtle

Postby KeyBlue » 25 Dec 2016, 01:04

This is probably a good replay of how not to handle a fire base?
Good replay for heaven maybe?

You seem to have good ideas, but you do them too late.
  • Like you know you need mml vs pd, but first you get some mongoose that do nothing. (don't build mongoose if you can't micro them 24/7)
  • You know how tmd works, but don't rush tmd after getting all your t2 mex sniped or better after scouting his tml?
  • You get a nice percy drop after having t3 for a long time, when you should drop the first percy that you build. (since 1 percy can't do anything in front of a fire base, but if you drop it, it can have a big impact)
Also remember to use the range of both mml and arty properly. You had both too forward so they died. (btw most t3 arty doesn't fire while moving, so don't micro them too much)

Don't get impatient, just put mml/t3 arty at max range and focus down the pd/shields 1 by 1. Simply put some units in front of them to block incoming units trying to snipe them. (use a (mobile) shield to protect against suicide bombers)