How to not suck against turtling players?

Moderator: PhilipJFry

How to not suck against turtling players?

Postby Kalavinka » 08 Aug 2016, 09:43

So I'm a hopeless noob, rank 374, trying endlessly to improve my game and having limited success. I like to think my aggression is pretty decent for the tier I'm at, but there's one big problem.

Turtling players.

Every single game I play, I seem to end up against turtling players - particularly UEF. They build shields, they build point defenses, and by the time I have a T3 army up they somehow seem to have a bigger one. My forward bases get bombarded by artillery, my every assault fails...

It's enough to get me to the boiling point.

But on a serious note, does anyone have any advice? I've attached a replay (warning: cringefest) of my most recent battle against a player who turtled HARDCORE. If anyone has the time, patience or even the simple desire to laugh at my expense, I would greatly appreciate being absolutely ripped to shreds.

Advice, criticism... anything helps. I'm looking to improve my game, and I can accept my own stupidity.

Thank you.
Kalavinka
Crusader

Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 12 times
FAF User Name: Kalavinka

Re: How to not suck against turtling players?

Postby Hawkei » 08 Aug 2016, 09:56

The turtling player is giving you an awesome gift. The map. Use it.

More land control = more resources.
More resources = more units.
More units = won games.