Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Interesting mapping tools and mapping help.

Moderator: Morax

Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Sovietpride » 26 Jun 2014, 20:58

Very similar to this guy i believe.
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=7477

Followed the instructions given on the wiki, and no spawns appear.
I did some tinkering, and for some reason or another couldn't undo what i did.
The result is the mess below.

WIll upload/link to a video showing a few things which will make things easier i think.
Code: Select all
version = 3
ScenarioInfo = {
    name = 'Two shores 2',
    description = 'Two shores. What?',
    type = 'skirmish',
    starts = true,
    preview = '',
    size = {512, 512},
    map = '/maps/Two shores 2/Two shores 2.scmap',
    save = '/maps/Two shores 2/Two shores 2_save.lua',
    script = '/maps/Two shores 2/Two shores 2_script.lua',
    norushradius = 0.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_1 = 0.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_1 = 0.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_2 = 0.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_2 = 0.000000,
    Configurations = {
        ['Standard'] = {
            teams = {
                { name = 'FFA', armies = {'ARMY_1','ARMY_2',} },
            },
            customprops = {
            },
        },
    }}

Sovietpride
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 13 Aug 2013, 17:44
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 109 times
FAF User Name: Sovietpride

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Plasma_Wolf » 27 Jun 2014, 15:28

Have you double checked the folder structure? Also, do you have the script file?
User avatar
Plasma_Wolf
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 11:28
Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 91 times
FAF User Name: Plasma_Wolf

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Sovietpride » 27 Jun 2014, 19:18

Script file:

Code: Select all
   local ScenarioUtils = import('/lua/sim/ScenarioUtilities.lua')
   
   function OnPopulate()
      ScenarioUtils.InitializeArmies()
   end
   
   function OnStart(self)
   end



UUnless you mean, Do i have it in, in which case, yes.

Im not overly sure about the folder structure.
It's where all my other maps are, and I can find it on the FAF browser, make a lobby, but it'll say "no valid game parameters"
Sovietpride
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 13 Aug 2013, 17:44
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 109 times
FAF User Name: Sovietpride

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Plasma_Wolf » 27 Jun 2014, 21:28

The folder structure is probably good, just check if the name is exactly the same everywhere where it should be, so at all places where it should say "Two Shores 2", it is exactly that. Goes for the folder of the map, and all files. The name references in the scenario.lua are correct.

If that looks good and it still doesn't work, put the map folder in a zip file and add it as an attachment.
User avatar
Plasma_Wolf
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 11:28
Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 91 times
FAF User Name: Plasma_Wolf

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Sovietpride » 28 Jun 2014, 00:47

File is attached.

Thanks for your help
Attachments
Two shores 2.rar
as requested
(299.46 KiB) Downloaded 173 times
Sovietpride
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 13 Aug 2013, 17:44
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 109 times
FAF User Name: Sovietpride

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby BushMaster » 28 Jun 2014, 09:17

you had two minor issues. very simple fix.

Why you had no spawns appearing :

In your scenario.lua you had a capital s in standard. needs to be no caps. (i also removed the comma after ARMY_2, not gamebreaking but it seems out of place and a quick test seemed that it caused the commander to not be autoselected but that could have been me goofing up)
Code: Select all
Configurations = {
    ['standard'] = { //you had a capital S, needs to be lowercase
      teams = {
        {
          name = 'FFA',
          armies = {'ARMY_1', 'ARMY_2'}, //i removed the , directly after the 'ARMY_2' inside the curly brace
       },


Second issue : once that was sorted you also had another issue, after the game started it would instantly end. the problem was in your map folder. your script file was named incorrectly. instead of Two shores 2_ like all the other files and as specified in your scenario, your script file had an underscore between Two and shores in the name. remove that and all is well.


p.s. i also changed the spawns (just location) in my test because i suspected that as the issue. one appeared to be invalid (at least in my editor it was) i also reccomend HazardX's marker editor if you arent using it already since it keeps alot of these issues from happening, it also has native support for FA ai markers.

also Reccomend supcom symmetry just because its a useful tool for symmetritizing a hieghtmap and strata (its an alternative to photoshop and easier imo)

sorry couldnt link them because this is new account, but just google them they are on the gpg forums


and sorry if this post was over elaberate, it felt like it while writing but im too tired to fix. GL mapping
User avatar
BushMaster
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 07:35
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 12 times
FAF User Name: MooseFabricator

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Sovietpride » 28 Jun 2014, 22:36

Nope, this was extremely useful.

Thank you in advance, will test when i am able
Sovietpride
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 13 Aug 2013, 17:44
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 109 times
FAF User Name: Sovietpride

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Psychotic_Pandas » 06 Mar 2015, 21:13

I also seem to be having the same issue, but even with the changes you suggested to Sovietpride, I still was unable to get the game to spawn or even start... I am pretty sure it is something with the code, but I cannot seem to locate the issue.
Psychotic_Pandas
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Mar 2015, 20:45
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Psychotic Pandas

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby speed2 » 06 Mar 2015, 21:17

Psychotic_Pandas wrote:I also seem to be having the same issue, but even with the changes you suggested to Sovietpride, I still was unable to get the game to spawn or even start... I am pretty sure it is something with the code, but I cannot seem to locate the issue.

There is like 5 things that could have gone worng, I think easiest way for you would be to upload your map somewhere, dropbox or something and give us link.
User avatar
speed2
Contributor
 
Posts: 3189
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 15:11
Has liked: 636 times
Been liked: 1119 times
FAF User Name: speed2

Re: Unable to launch game/ no spawns

Postby Psychotic_Pandas » 06 Mar 2015, 21:38

Forum will not let me post the link.... says post too spammy for a new user, which I will admit I am

edit: never mind, my next post has the link on a text file
Last edited by Psychotic_Pandas on 06 Mar 2015, 21:45, edited 1 time in total.
Psychotic_Pandas
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Mar 2015, 20:45
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Psychotic Pandas

Next

Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest