Help needed with map upload (solved)

Interesting mapping tools and mapping help.

Help needed with map upload (solved)

Postby seero » 14 Mar 2018, 19:37

Hi mappers.

I've always had troubles with getting my maps in vault but this time it's killing me.. Could anyone find out the reason why the attached map won't load properly in vault? It just appears as a blank map that cannot be downloaded.. Map version and screenshot are updated but map itself just wont load. I uploaded new version from one of my old maps and it worked well so currently my client version should work properly. I've tried to copy scenario and script files from working map and almost everything that i ever could imagine but it just wont work.

map files: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgnFbmAipoN0hZ1q6uaJeixcV1ZLLQ
Last edited by seero on 15 Mar 2018, 22:14, edited 1 time in total.
seero
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 17 Dec 2013, 12:42
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times
FAF User Name: seero

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby speed2 » 14 Mar 2018, 20:51

how did you upload the previous 199 versions?
User avatar
speed2
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2986
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 15:11
Has liked: 545 times
Been liked: 1004 times
FAF User Name: speed2

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby seero » 14 Mar 2018, 21:13

With Downlord's 0.7.7.2-apha. No error messages or anything during the upload and i can play that map without any errors in FAF but it just wont appear properly in vault.
seero
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 17 Dec 2013, 12:42
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times
FAF User Name: seero

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby svenni_badbwoi » 15 Mar 2018, 03:28

Hey, I had a quick look at the scenario file. If that is the upload version you should remove all ".vXXXX" from file and folder to prevent this from happening and try again.
The reason behind that: Upload process was changed to make versioning simpler I believe. Versioning depends on "map_version= X" and will be created/writen in files via upload.

But since you were able to update a different map, I'm not sure if that will help you.
User avatar
svenni_badbwoi
Crusader
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 23 May 2017, 12:19
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 23 times
FAF User Name: svenni_badbwoi

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby Wolfram_74 » 15 Mar 2018, 14:22

I think the problem is a script file. Try to change your Panama Bay_script.lua file to my example. I have 0.7.7.2-alpha Downlord version too and my maps are uploading correct.

It looks like you missed some text:
ScenarioFramework.SetPlayableArea('AREA_1' , false)
Attachments
ascension_lakes_script.lua
An example of script file
(280 Bytes) Downloaded 14 times
User avatar
Wolfram_74
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 15:22
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Wolfram_74

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby CookieNoob » 15 Mar 2018, 14:47

Code: Select all
ScenarioFramework.SetPlayableArea('AREA_1' , false)

this is not necessary in the script file, except you want to restrict the playable area to some smaller area. This command is not needed for most of the maps. The content of the scriptfile is for uploading purposes completely irrelevant.

The only things that I can imagine to cause problems are
1) some mistake in the scenario file (i.e. the team configuration is called "Standard" instead of "standard" or...), this type of error can lead to the upload not working (gives an error message)
2) some mistakes in the scmap file (i.e. the editor set the colors for the minimap to white instead of the appropriate colors...), this type of error could cause your problem
3) some naming issues, (i.e. the map file has a different name than the one specified in the scenario file), this isnt the case here
4) some mysterious magic

did you create the map with ozonex editor? if yes: in which format did you save it? you could try to save it with the original editor again
Check out the next level of maps: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=13014
For adaptivity, customizability and less clutter in the vault.
User avatar
CookieNoob
Priest
 
Posts: 477
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 17:07
Has liked: 65 times
Been liked: 247 times
FAF User Name: CookieNoob

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby seero » 15 Mar 2018, 18:28

Thanks for replies. Im using original supcom map editor. Ive taken script and scenario files from working map so for me seems that there is some dark magix in scenario or save file.
seero
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 17 Dec 2013, 12:42
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times
FAF User Name: seero

Re: Help needed with map upload

Postby seero » 15 Mar 2018, 22:16

svenni_badbwoi wrote:Hey, I had a quick look at the scenario file. If that is the upload version you should remove all ".vXXXX" from file and folder to prevent this from happening and try again.
The reason behind that: Upload process was changed to make versioning simpler I believe. Versioning depends on "map_version= X" and will be created/writen in files via upload.

But since you were able to update a different map, I'm not sure if that will help you.



This was the actual problem. Apparently you cannot name folders any more (it used to work since i was born??). Just keep folders name without version suffix and increase revision in scenario and it works. I dont know why my old map worked even it was revised with old style.. perhaps because the original was uploaded in good old times.


Thanks for helping.

EDIT: The uglies thing in this case is that when you upload it to vault and download it again, it has added those freaking version numbers to file folder, and next problem is ready:
https://forums.faforever.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15995
seero
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 17 Dec 2013, 12:42
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times
FAF User Name: seero


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest