Primus Alfa proper version - concept

Interesting mapping tools and mapping help.

Moderator: Morax

Primus Alfa proper version - concept

Postby Ithilis_Quo » 14 Apr 2016, 17:26

I procrastinate, so was more likely to waste some time in drawing, to change primus Alfa for 1v1 version, what are only some small change from map that is already done thanks to Super, and then Tokyto_ for editing.

map start as 10x10 and will expand after 5 minute for full 20x20 version.
In corner is relativle strong civil creep that will require t2 mml to break throught, so main attack will be from middle, north door will open after time when you reach T2 tech, and time to build mmls. When game will not be decided by start by some spam fest, then gameplay will rapidly change for something similar as is team game on sitis major where both side build pd creep and slowly move with army. But while map expand would be neccesary capture expansion, what is 3/4 of map. Every game on same map should have total diferent story depend on what will happend on first minutes of game.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9n2mbljbnokt7 ... y.png?dl=0

What you think about it, it is map that you will like to play?
Last edited by Ithilis_Quo on 20 Apr 2016, 14:09, edited 1 time in total.
"Fixed in Equilibrium" Washy
User avatar
Ithilis_Quo
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 15:55
Location: Slovakia
Has liked: 395 times
Been liked: 181 times
FAF User Name: Ithilis

Re: Primus Alfa proper version - concept

Postby biass » 20 Apr 2016, 08:19

Hey Ithilis
I think your map has a fun idea, but best to wait until civ reveal is finally put into faf, also, do you have working code to expand the map?

And another thing, try giving your water a darker blue tint, maybe it will look a bit better,
Hope this helps <3
Map thread: https://bit.ly/2PBsa5H

Petricpwnz wrote:biass on his campaign to cleanse and remake every single map of FAF because he is an untolerating reincarnation of mapping hitler
User avatar
biass
Contributor
 
Posts: 2239
Joined: 03 Dec 2015, 07:54
Has liked: 598 times
Been liked: 662 times
FAF User Name: biass

Re: Primus Alfa proper version - concept

Postby speed2 » 20 Apr 2016, 09:37

biass wrote:Hey Ithilis
I think your map has a fun idea, but best to wait until civ reveal is finally put into faf, also, do you have working code to expand the map?

And another thing, try giving your water a darker blue tint, maybe it will look a bit better,
Hope this helps <3

Civ reveal works in beta. Code for expanding is simple. The current Primus Alfa version is expanding either after 10 minutes or when 90% of mexes is built.
Code: Select all
local ScenarioUtils = import('/lua/sim/ScenarioUtilities.lua')
local ScenarioFramework = import('/lua/ScenarioFramework.lua')

function OnPopulate()
    ScenarioUtils.InitializeArmies()
    ScenarioFramework.SetPlayableArea('AREA_1' , false)
end

function OnStart(self)
    ScenarioInfo.MapAlreadyExpanded = false
    ForkThread(MapExpandConditions)
end

function MapExpandConditions()
    -- This will make map expand after 90% of the mexes are built or after 10 minutes.
    ScenarioFramework.CreateTimerTrigger(MapExpand, 60*10, true) -- This function is using seconds, change as needed.

    local MexToBuild = CountMexMarkersInArea('AREA_1') * 0.9 -- Currently set to 90% of all mexes, change it as you need.

    while not ScenarioInfo.MapAlreadyExpanded do
        local curMexies = 0
        for _, brain in ArmyBrains do
            curMexies = curMexies + table.getn(ScenarioFramework.GetCatUnitsInArea(categories.MASSEXTRACTION, 'AREA_1', brain))
        end
        if curMexies > MexToBuild then
            if not ScenarioInfo.MapAlreadyExpanded then
                MapExpand()
            end
            break
        end
        WaitSeconds(1)
    end
end

function MapExpand()
    if ScenarioInfo.MapAlreadyExpanded == false then
        ScenarioInfo.MapAlreadyExpanded = true
        ScenarioFramework.SetPlayableArea('AREA_2' , true)
    end
end

function CountMexMarkersInArea(area)
    local rect = ScenarioUtils.AreaToRect(area)

    local mexNum = 0
    for markerName, markerTable in Scenario.MasterChain['_MASTERCHAIN_'].Markers do
        if string.find(markerName, "Mass*") then
            if ScenarioUtils.InRect(markerTable.position, rect) then
                mexNum = mexNum + 1
            end
        end
    end
    return mexNum
end
User avatar
speed2
Contributor
 
Posts: 3189
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 15:11
Has liked: 636 times
Been liked: 1119 times
FAF User Name: speed2


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest