Using defensive structures for their mass Topic is solved

Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby FunkOff » 31 Dec 2013, 04:36

Some people have tossed around the idea of using defensive structures for their mass by ctl + king them at the start of the game and simply reclaiming them.

So, I have an idea to fix this:

In gwReinforcements.lua, in the function "InitialStructuresSpawnThread", change this following:
Code: Select all
   for index, v in UnitsToSpawn do
      #WARN('unit and pos is ' .. repr(v) .. ' and ' .. repr(posX) .. ' and ' .. repr(posY))
        local unit = aiBrain:CreateUnitNearSpot(v, posX, posY)
        if delay > 0 then
           unit:InitiateActivation(delay)
       end
        if unit != nil and unit:GetBlueprint().Physics.FlattenSkirt then
            unit:CreateTarmac(true, true, true, false, false)
        end
   end


to this:

Code: Select all
   for index, v in UnitsToSpawn do
      #WARN('unit and pos is ' .. repr(v) .. ' and ' .. repr(posX) .. ' and ' .. repr(posY))
        local unit = aiBrain:CreateUnitNearSpot(v, posX, posY)
      unit.CreateWreckage = function (self, overkillRatio)
         return
      end,
        if delay > 0 then
           unit:InitiateActivation(delay)
       end
        if unit != nil and unit:GetBlueprint().Physics.FlattenSkirt then
            unit:CreateTarmac(true, true, true, false, false)
        end
   end
FunkOff
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 17:27
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 43 times
FAF User Name: FakeOff

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby Nombringer » 31 Dec 2013, 05:36

The problem is that a lot of structures , like t1 pd are actually completely useless, I have also never actually seen a t2 pd or arty make any difference in battle.

The aa, on the other hand, is quite nice
BC_Blackheart: i just copy his shit and do it 5% better leads to easy win usually xD

Need help? Are you a new player? Feel free to message me any time in the lobby :) Lessons may cost a portoin of your soul.... (Noms are included but not guaranteed)
Nombringer
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: 16 Nov 2012, 06:31
Has liked: 210 times
Been liked: 65 times
FAF User Name: Nombringer

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby FunkOff » 31 Dec 2013, 06:01

The funny thing is, I originally programmed structures to be built via the beacon: whenever you decided to build the reinforcements beacon, engineers would arrive and build the structures for you, free of charge, near the beacon. Zep thought it was simpler to just spawn them near the starting position, though. (I originally wanted base structures, like factories and pgens to be at the base, but defense structures to be brought by transport)
FunkOff
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 17:27
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 43 times
FAF User Name: FakeOff

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby Nombringer » 31 Dec 2013, 06:35

Maybe we could trial that, it seems a LOT more powerful, and makes the cost justified.

I dont know how hard that would be to code though
BC_Blackheart: i just copy his shit and do it 5% better leads to easy win usually xD

Need help? Are you a new player? Feel free to message me any time in the lobby :) Lessons may cost a portoin of your soul.... (Noms are included but not guaranteed)
Nombringer
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: 16 Nov 2012, 06:31
Has liked: 210 times
Been liked: 65 times
FAF User Name: Nombringer

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby Golol » 31 Dec 2013, 09:36

i would actually prefer if instead of building pds and AA on planets, you could build buildings that do stuff like:
charging an attack on this planet takes 20% longer
reinforcements cost 5% left for each one built.
or somethig really powerful:
if you die defending this planet you dont lose your character but all your credits.
User avatar
Golol
Contributor
 
Posts: 700
Joined: 07 May 2012, 15:56
Has liked: 24 times
Been liked: 21 times
FAF User Name: Golol

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby ZLO_RD » 31 Dec 2013, 10:09

so i will have to groundfire my t1 pds to get reclaim?
(or recalim them manually? )

i do not really understand, so structures will be forever under AI control so i can't ctrl+k them? and can't give them orders??? what if that will be t2 TML or t2 arty

IF you add AI that will build PDs, you sure that resources from friendly AI will not overflow to player?

Also it gives opportunity to enemy player to just snipe engyes, not sure how good it is,
and how it will be compared to units coming trought gateways, so reinf engyes will have to arrive from gates?
http://www.youtube.com/user/dimatularus
http://www.twitch.tv/zlo_rd
TA4Life: "At the very least we are not slaves to the UI"
User avatar
ZLO_RD
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2265
Joined: 27 Oct 2011, 13:57
Location: Russia, Tula
Has liked: 303 times
Been liked: 400 times
FAF User Name: ZLO

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby Ze_PilOt » 31 Dec 2013, 14:32

May I remind once again that not all the features are in yet?
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass  Topic is solved

Postby Ze_PilOt » 09 Jan 2014, 22:57

The OP issue is fixed.

Unlike the proposed solution, the defenses are still making wrecks, but they worth 1 mass and 1 energy only.
Also, you can't reclaim them, just in case.
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby Gorton » 09 Jan 2014, 23:10

What?
What's the point of making them then? Single aa turret, maybe a t2 pd if small map and there is no point putting more defences down
If they could be placed wherever I would be fine with the unreclaimable pd but since you can't I think it's a fair use of them...
"who is this guy, he didnt play gpg or what?" - RA_ZLO

*FAF Moderator*
Gorton
Councillor - Moderation
 
Posts: 2543
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 21:57
Location: United Kingdom
Has liked: 1067 times
Been liked: 455 times
FAF User Name: Gorton

Re: Using defensive structures for their mass

Postby Ze_PilOt » 09 Jan 2014, 23:17

Defenses are for defenses, not for having free resources.

They exists so your recall zone is safe. T1 PD has a role for that, T2 even more.
Also T1 AA, and you don't have to worry about bomber rushes.

As T1 are dirt cheap, I think they still have a role.
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Next

Return to Galactic War

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest