Getting started with modding

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Getting started with modding

Postby Jeroen De Dauw » 14 Jan 2015, 00:15

I'm a dev with some experience (github com/JeroenDeDauw) and would like to start doing some modding. I've looked through this forums a bit, checked the GitHub FAF project and looked at some mods. A few years ago I created a little mod. Now I'm looking for help to get up and running in more professional manner without hitting my head against a wall for a few days. Questions:

* Is there a decent general guid for starting with writing mods that I should obviously check?
* I'm not a LUA dev. What development tools are recommended? In particular, I want a good IDE and a test runner. The main features I'd want in the IDE are basic navigation (including going to definition), autocompletion/browsing and live detection of obvious errors (ie cp errors or calling a method on a type that does not have it).
* How do I establish a quick feedback cycle? Writing a pile of code, starting FA, starting a game, and hitting some buttons is even worse than your typical UI driven debugging.
* Is there a recommended way to manage a mod. Things such as collecting bugs reports and contributions, keeping release notes, creating releases and publishing those. It's my impression that in general these things are simply not done, and the code of most mods is not even in VCS. Are there mods for which this is done more professionaly, at which I can look as example?
* Related to the previous point: if I want to contribute to an existing mod, how do I go about it?
Jeroen De Dauw
Crusader

Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: EntropyWins

Re: Getting started with modding

Postby Aurion » 14 Jan 2015, 17:33

Jeroen De Dauw wrote:* Is there a decent general guid for starting with writing mods that I should obviously check?