Page 5 of 39

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 10:05
by ozonex
I created multipass shader that supports 8 stratum + lower stratum. Fixed mipmaps import (unity was recalculating them, not just importing) and fixed UVs and stratum scales. Need to work now on lighting.

It starting to look similar.
Image
Image

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 10:09
by Lionhardt
great!

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 10:17
by Anihilnine
what do you do for work?

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 10:24
by ozonex
Anihilnine wrote:what do you do for work?

I work as technical artist. Code shaders, character rigs, coding all graphic stuff and sometimes whole games in unity.

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 11:10
by Anihilnine
That's cool. What country are you in? I'm a c# dev working on boring business systems. I've been playing w unity lately though and holy shit god damn doesnt it make life easy. I'm in Australia there isnt much work for game dev here, otherwise I might try and get into it

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 11:20
by ozonex
Anihilnine wrote:That's cool. What country are you in? I'm a c# dev working on boring business systems. I've been playing w unity lately though and holy shit god damn doesnt it make life easy. I'm in Australia there isnt much work for game dev here, otherwise I might try and get into it

Im from Poland. Unity is very easy game engine. There are alot tutorials, docs and ready code to gets started.

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 17 Mar 2016, 10:10
by ozonex
Started to work with lighting and just find out that stratum 1 mask was wrong. Fixed it. But from what i see something is wrong with colors. SupCom editor looks more red, like small compression or something, don't know why. Also textures in Unity are much more sharp. I disabled blinear filter and increased mipmap bias to make them more blurry.

Here are some screenshots with only ambient light set to 1. Bloom and other effects are disabled.

Image
Image

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 17 Mar 2016, 11:13
by ozonex
Found it. It was upper stratum. Added it to editor. Also fixed some lighting.

Here is how it looks now with same lighting settings.
RA 90
DA 45
Multipiler = 2
Lightcolor = 1
Ambient color = 1
Shadow color = 1
Image

The only differences I see here are more sharp terrain in SupCom editor and little different texture mipmaps behavior.

Re: [Alpha 0.414] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 17 Mar 2016, 22:51
by ozonex
v0.416
- Multipass shader for terrain that supports 8 stratum layers + lower and upper stratum
- Finished lighting
- Fixed some more DDS import settings
- Fixed texture Mipmap behavior and texture filtering
- Fixed import of all stratum masks, scales and textures

http://ozonex.pl/fafmapeditor/fafmapeditor_alpha_v0416.zip

Comparison of rendering in SC Editor and FAF Map Editor
Image

I know it sound boring, but for me reproducing SupCom rendering in totally other engine is amazing. Everything looks like in game, but i have much more control.
Image
Image
Image
Image

Re: [Alpha 0.416] FA Forever Map Editor

PostPosted: 19 Mar 2016, 02:55
by Lionhardt
Is it possible btw, to use the windows file browser from inside the editor rather than that inbuilt one?

Oh and also, you know what would be the single most amazing thing to have in your editor? A layer manager for decals!

So you can create management layers, and select them, then you will be able to only select decals on that layer. Because as it is right now, accessing lower decals is very annoying. If you had created a layer before though which you assigned the lower decals to, then you could later just select that layer and easily select he lower lying decals.

Another great addition would be a list that shows all currently selected decals, clicking on one of the decals n the list once would highlight it in a different color, double clicking the the entry would select it. This feature would be even better than the layer manager.