New models for map creation

Everything about mods can be found here.

Moderator: Morax

New models for map creation

Postby Franck83 » 24 Dec 2017, 19:19

This post gives inspiring ideas.

I've no experience about map making (for now) and i'm so busy with my mod, but i found a lot of inspiring tree assets (with low poly counts) that can be used for making very cool forest maps.
All the map i tested got nearly all trees have the same height. I didn't see any huge trees (like in avatar movie)...

These are low poly trees (there are some blender lowering polycount scripts for higher count models)

https://free3d.com/user/kim/models/4
https://free3d.com/user/kim/models/5

Today, 10 years after supcom FA release, we have access to huge amount of ressources to make fantasic work on supcom/map modding.

If we add a sim script to theses maps, we can add some aoe properties to some trees (healing trees, shield regen trees)...
Last edited by Franck83 on 26 Dec 2017, 14:09, edited 1 time in total.
Alliance of Heroes Mod is out ! Try it ! It's in the Mod Vault !
Franck83
Evaluator

Has liked: 114 times
Been liked: 122 times
FAF User Name: Franck83

Re: New tree models

Postby CookieNoob » 25 Dec 2017, 11:29

sure we can add these trees as new props (they can also be integrated in the original editor and most certainly in ozonex editor as well)

Scripts for these trees dont need to be in the map, the trees itself can also have unit scripts.
Check out the next level of maps: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=13014
For adaptivity, customizability and less clutter in the vault.
CookieNoob
Priest

Has liked: 65 times
Been liked: 249 times
FAF User Name: CookieNoob

Postby Brutus5000 » 25 Dec 2017, 12:38

Please don't forget to check for the license of the assets. "Personal use only" doesn't actually work out with us distributing them to every player.
The 9th Doctor wrote:You think it'll last forever, the people and cars and concrete. But it won't. One day it's all gone, even the sky.
Brutus5000