What have I been missing?

Talk about anything not related to FA or FAF here !

Postby Hawkei » 13 Sep 2013, 02:59

Hi,

I started playing this game in 2006. After which I spent a lot of time playing it on GPG, and taken it up again with FAF. I always used to find FA an enjoyable game to play. It is strategically difficult and demanding. Infact, at several points I have found myself seriously addicted to it. It is so exciting that I will often find myself jumping straight onto the machine when I get home from work. Only to play it into the early hours of the morning.

Recently however, I went on an overseas holiday. For two weeks I was away from technology on an alpine cross country skiing adventure. Having to work harder than I ever have before. Survivng by my own wits, at the mercy of the elements. I've never felt so alive. But now, sitting down at a computer seems so boring. I simply don't have the motivation to play this game anymore. The idea of sitting down to play some kind of tactical simulation seems pointless. When I could be facing real dangers and making real decisions in real life.

Has anyone considered what they could have done, with the time they had, if they didn't spend so much of it playing this game?
Hawkei
Supreme Commander

Location: A rather obscure planet in a small cluster of stars on the outer edge of the Milky Way Galaxy
Has liked: 44 times
Been liked: 182 times
FAF User Name: Firewall

Re: What have I been missing?

Postby Ato0theJ » 13 Sep 2013, 05:04

I'm pretty sure most of us know that playing video games isn't a rewarding as many other things but continue to do so because of
1. Low cost
2. No risk
3. Simple social interactions
4. Low effort