Run two replays simultaneously

Talk about general things concerning Forged Alliance Forever.

Moderators: FtXCommando, Ze Dogfather

Run two replays simultaneously

Postby StormLantern » 18 Jan 2020, 21:10

Is there a way to do this? I want to learn more by comparing my replays live with replays of others..
StormLantern
Crusader
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Feb 2019, 21:57
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 3 times
FAF User Name: StormLantern

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby Defiant » 20 Jan 2020, 00:30

Multiple instances of supcom can be played at the same time. I couldn't find the command needed to allow this, but it can.
Defiant
Crusader
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 04 Apr 2012, 07:41
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 6 times
FAF User Name: Defiant

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby ZLO_RD » 20 Jan 2020, 09:47

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14434 method described here should work with Python client, but it does not work with new Java/Downlord's client
http://www.youtube.com/user/dimatularus
http://www.twitch.tv/zlo_rd
TA4Life: "At the very least we are not slaves to the UI"
User avatar
ZLO_RD
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2206
Joined: 27 Oct 2011, 13:57
Location: Russia, Tula
Has liked: 295 times
Been liked: 380 times
FAF User Name: ZLO

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby tatsu » 20 Jan 2020, 20:09

ZLO_RD wrote:should work with Python client, but it does not work with new Java/Downlord's client

why?

Downlord's the one who found it and that file belongs to FA not FAF and is not really used by FAF (appart to know which mods you turned on).
Run FAF + FA on linux, you can automate the whole install and setup process :
https://github.com/tatsujb/installFAFscript
User avatar
tatsu
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 21:26
Has liked: 1820 times
Been liked: 161 times
FAF User Name: tatsu

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby StormLantern » 20 Jan 2020, 20:19

ZLO_RD wrote:https://forums.faforever.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14434 method described here should work with Python client, but it does not work with new Java/Downlord's client



The python cliënt is a different name for the FAFforever lobby correct? In that case I tried this already. Like you mentioned, I found this topic as well and tried to use that code, but all it did was start two instances of Supcom, but always playing the same replay, even when I started two different ones. I hope that makes sense.
StormLantern
Crusader
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Feb 2019, 21:57
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 3 times
FAF User Name: StormLantern

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby StormLantern » 20 Jan 2020, 20:20

tatsu wrote:
ZLO_RD wrote:should work with Python client, but it does not work with new Java/Downlord's client

why?

Downlord's the one who found it and that file belongs to FA not FAF and is not really used by FAF (appart to know which mods you turned on).



Downlords client just gives the error that there is already an instance of supcom running
StormLantern
Crusader
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Feb 2019, 21:57
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 3 times
FAF User Name: StormLantern

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby tatsu » 20 Jan 2020, 20:45

StormLantern wrote:Downlords client just gives the error that there is already an instance of supcom running

huh, ok maybe a new setting option to look into for downlord client
Run FAF + FA on linux, you can automate the whole install and setup process :
https://github.com/tatsujb/installFAFscript
User avatar
tatsu
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 21:26
Has liked: 1820 times
Been liked: 161 times
FAF User Name: tatsu

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby tatsu » 20 Jan 2020, 20:52

after testing I realized that downlord's client actually removes that line before you start an instance of FA.
Run FAF + FA on linux, you can automate the whole install and setup process :
https://github.com/tatsujb/installFAFscript
User avatar
tatsu
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 21:26
Has liked: 1820 times
Been liked: 161 times
FAF User Name: tatsu

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby StormLantern » 20 Jan 2020, 21:12

tatsu wrote:
ZLO_RD wrote:should work with Python client, but it does not work with new Java/Downlord's client

why?

Downlord's the one who found it and that file belongs to FA not FAF and is not really used by FAF (appart to know which mods you turned on).



Also, I found that any alteration I make in the prefs file reverts after one start up of the game
StormLantern
Crusader
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Feb 2019, 21:57
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 3 times
FAF User Name: StormLantern

Re: Run two replays simultaneously

Postby StormLantern » 20 Jan 2020, 21:13

tatsu wrote:after testing I realized that downlord's client actually removes that line before you start an instance of FA.


Ah exactly, FAForever does the same thing. I presume that FAForever is the Python client?
StormLantern
Crusader
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Feb 2019, 21:57
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 3 times
FAF User Name: StormLantern

Next

Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest