Missing T3 artillery with Sorian AIx & No Rush Circle

Talk about general things concerning Forged Alliance Forever.

Moderators: Mountain, FtXCommando

Missing T3 artillery with Sorian AIx & No Rush Circle

Postby saxz » 15 Apr 2019, 18:18

Hello guys,

I'm new to this forum and also to the FAF mod but played a lot of SupCom FA over the years now. Recently my friend and I switched to the FAF version and we are really excited about it. Thanks for your great work. Seems far more balanced and the performance is also quite good.

However, we recognized that some things seem to be missing. Most of the time we just play together against the "Sorian AIx - Adaptive" on Senton's Clutch with different compositions of the four fractions and the "No Rush Option" for 20 minutes.

One thing is, that the no rush circle is missing. By this I mean the area around your start position, in which you are allowed to act in by the no rush countdown. I just found one thread regarding this issue but there wasn't really a solution for that. Is there any reason why this feature was disabled? And is it possible to enable it maybe manually again?

And the other thing is, that the Sorian AIx doesn't build artillery (T3 and experimental) anymore. We played now about 20 matches and all fractions produced experimental bots, nukes or maybe experimental satellite systems and so on, but no more artillery building greater then T2. Has this problem be recognized by anyone before?

And I know there is a option to en-/disable some units or buildings, but this is not the cause for that problem.

Thank you in advance and best regards
User avatar
saxz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Apr 2019, 17:33
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: saxz

Re: Missing T3 artillery with Sorian AIx & No Rush Circle

Postby Uveso » 16 Apr 2019, 08:53

Hello saxz,

welcome to FAForever!

The no rush option needs a value present inside the "MAP_scenario.lua" file:
Code: Select all
    norushradius = 70,

If this line is missing, then you have a no rush radius of "0" and the option "NoRush" is not working.
(If you use my AI (AI-Uveso), then it will automatically set a default no Rush radius if it's missing)

As i know, the Sorian AI is still building T3 artilleries.
(i will check this later, and if i find a bug there, then i will fix it for the next game patch)

You maybe don't know it, but the FAF game version can load AI-Mods as a normal sim-mod.
There is no need to coyp any .SCD files to the gamedata directory.
Just copy the AI mod to your game/mod directory and activate it like any other mod.

Visit our AI-Mod sub forum for more information:
http://forums.faforever.com/viewforum.php?f=88

If you are interested in AI play then you should try my AI :D

It can autocreate waypoiont markers for maps without markers,
has no problems with 2 lakes/seas on a maps like setons,
detects naval only maps,
and is stronger then sorian AI on all maps.

(Have in mind that FAF GPG and Sorian AI are updated versions, they are both stronger then their originals)

And my AI is still in development. So if you have any ideas we can implement them.
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1417
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 48 times
Been liked: 226 times
FAF User Name: Uveso

Re: Missing T3 artillery with Sorian AIx & No Rush Circle

Postby saxz » 17 Apr 2019, 14:03

Hi Uveso,

thanks for your kind reply. Your AI-Mod sounds very interesting. I will definitly give it a try, because we're always up for a new challenge. Is it also a good way to install your mod by the FAF Client (Vault -> Mods) or is it better to copy it to the game/mod directory as you mentioned?

Regarding the artillery issue with the Sorian AIx: i think this has to be a bug. As I said before, in all games since we change to the FAF version of SupCom the "Sorian AIx adaptive" doesn't build artillery T3 or experimental anymore.
If you need some replays to verify that, I can send you all of them. And also if you need someone to test a possible bug fix of yours, I/we would volunteer for that.

Thank you also for your explanation concerning the "norushradius". If I understand your instructions correctly, I have to change the right "xyz_scenario.lua" file. In case of the seton's clutch map, it seems to be the "SCMP_009_scenario.lua" file in the directory "Steam\steamapps\common\Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\maps\SCMP_009". But as you can see, there is already such an entry in that file:

Code: Select all
version = 3
ScenarioInfo = {
    name = "Seton's Clutch",
    description = "<LOC SCMP_009_Description>Dozens of battles have been fought over the years across Seton's Clutch. A patient searcher could find the remains of thousands of units resting beneath the earth and under the waves.",
    type = 'skirmish',
    starts = true,
    preview = '',
    size = {1024, 1024},
    map = '/maps/SCMP_009/SCMP_009.scmap',
    save = '/maps/SCMP_009/SCMP_009_save.lua',
    script = '/maps/SCMP_009/SCMP_009_script.lua',
    norushradius = 70.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_1 = 15.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_1 = 40.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_2 = -10.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_2 = -40.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_3 = 10.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_3 = 30.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_4 = -12.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_4 = -38.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_5 = -40.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_5 = -15.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_6 = 40.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_6 = 10.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_7 = -10.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_7 = -10.000000,
    norushoffsetX_ARMY_8 = 20.000000,
    norushoffsetY_ARMY_8 = 15.000000,
    Configurations = {
        ['standard'] = {
            teams = {
                { name = 'FFA', armies = {'ARMY_1','ARMY_2','ARMY_3','ARMY_4','ARMY_5','ARMY_6','ARMY_7','ARMY_8',} },
            },
            customprops = {
                ['ExtraArmies'] = STRING( 'ARMY_9 NEUTRAL_CIVILIAN' ),
            },
        },
    }}

So I'm a bit confused, why this doesn't work already.

Maybe you have another advice for me. I would really appreciate that :)
User avatar
saxz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Apr 2019, 17:33
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: saxz

Re: Missing T3 artillery with Sorian AIx & No Rush Circle

Postby Uveso » 17 Apr 2019, 14:54

Well i checked it and the no rush option is working..

..BUT, the no rush circle is not drawn/invisible.

That's clearly a bug. :(
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1417
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 48 times
Been liked: 226 times
FAF User Name: Uveso

Re: Missing T3 artillery with Sorian AIx & No Rush Circle

Postby Uveso » 18 Apr 2019, 09:45

@saxz:

well, the issue is already fixed and will be part of the next game patch.

I guess this will be in 4-5 weeks.
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1417
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 48 times
Been liked: 226 times
FAF User Name: Uveso


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: foodlfg and 1 guest