Questions related to UI modifications

Everything about mods can be found here.

Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Ploppy » 11 Jan 2019, 23:47

Hello,

I would like to create a mod which modify some textures located in Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\gamedata\textures.scd\textures\ui\common\icons\units\.

I managed to modify them in-game by building a custom .scd file and putting it in Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\gamedata. This works in FA but not in FAF.

I tried creating a mod for the game:
In C:\Users\<username>\Documents\my games\Gas Powered Games\Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\Mods
I created a Folder named Modernizer (the name of the mod) in which I added my textures, the end result is Mods\Modernizer\hook\textures\ui\common\icons\units\
The mod is working, I can enable it, but the textures are not showing in game.

I also tried to put the above .scd in C:\ProgramData\FAForever\gamedata and renaming it to textures2.nx2 but it did not work either.

At this point I'm quite confused, is it even possible?

I need your help, thank you.
Ploppy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Jan 2019, 23:34
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Ploppy

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Franck83 » 12 Jan 2019, 00:24

It's a path matter.

Are you talking about icons or units textures ?

About textures, you need to specify your modded textures and your vanilla textures in your units blueprints.
(example for the aeon ACU)

For your modded textures, this kind of path should work :
Code: Select all
/mods/Modernizer/Hook/units/UAL0001/your texture name

and access to it in your unit bp this manner :
Code: Select all
Mesh = {
            IconFadeInZoom = 130,
             LODs = {
                {
                    AlbedoName = '/mods/Modernizer/Hook/units/UAL0001/your albedo name',
                    LODCutoff = 500,
                    MeshName = '/mods/Modernizer/Hook/units/UAL0001/your Mesh name',
                    NormalsName = '/mods/Modernizer/Hook/units/UAL0001/your Normal name',
                    Scrolling = true,
                    ShaderName = 'Aeon',
                    SpecularName = '/mods/Modernizer/Hook/units/UAL0001/your specular name',
                },
            },
        },



If you want to keep vanilla textures :

Put your unit in :
/mods/Modernizer/Hook/units/ual0001

and access to it in your unit bp this manner :
Code: Select all
Mesh = {
            IconFadeInZoom = 130,
             LODs = {
                {
                    AlbedoName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001_Albedo.dds',
                    LODCutoff = 500,
                    MeshName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001_LOD0.scm',
                    NormalsName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001_normalsTS.dds',
                    Scrolling = true,
                    ShaderName = 'Aeon',
                    SpecularName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001_SpecTeam.dds',
                },
                {
                    MeshName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001__lod1.scm',
                    AlbedoName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001__lod1_albedo.dds',
                    SpecularName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001__lod1_specteam.dds',
                    NormalsName = '/units/UAL0001/UAL0001__lod1_normalsTS.dds',
                    LODCutoff = 300,
                    ShaderName = 'Aeon',
                },
            },
        },


You may need to deal with lod values depending how you modded your textures. Just follow the vanilla style system.

Hope this help !
Alliance of Heroes Mod is out ! Try it ! It's in the Mod Vault !
User avatar
Franck83
Priest
 
Posts: 481
Joined: 30 Dec 2016, 11:59
Location: France
Has liked: 87 times
Been liked: 108 times
FAF User Name: Franck83

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Ploppy » 12 Jan 2019, 12:04

Thank you.

I am talking about the icon textures.
Ploppy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Jan 2019, 23:34
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Ploppy

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Anihilnine » 12 Jan 2019, 21:55

Strategic icons cannot be changed in a ui mod. Scd is the correct way to do it, like shadows advanced icons mod
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 262 times
Been liked: 388 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Ploppy » 12 Jan 2019, 22:15

My problem is that when I put my .scd mod in Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\gamedata it only works for FA, not FAF, as explained in my first message.
Ploppy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Jan 2019, 23:34
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Ploppy

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Anihilnine » 13 Jan 2019, 05:44

Use the exact same filename as shadows mod. That filename is whitelisted
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 262 times
Been liked: 388 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Ploppy » 13 Jan 2019, 13:23

Does not work either, it was probably allowed to modify only the strategic icons. Any idea?
Ploppy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Jan 2019, 23:34
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Ploppy

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Anihilnine » 13 Jan 2019, 21:34

Hmm no it should work. An scd in the programdata folder with shadows name - that should do it
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 262 times
Been liked: 388 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Ploppy » 13 Jan 2019, 22:36

Edit: I may have renamed my file .ntx instead of .nxt I'm not sure but it works now. I will keep you updated.

In C:\ProgramData\FAForever\gamedata there are no .scd files just .nx2

The file name of the Advanced strategic icons mod is Advanced strategic icons.nxt

I did try to rename my .zip to Advanced strategic icons.nxt and even added the 2 files (info.txt & version.txt in case they were needed) but it does NOT work.

I can confirm that the place is right, because even the Advanced strategic icons installer tells me that the mod is installed (but it's actually mine).

And I can confirm that the files are also right, since if I drop my .scd in the steam install it does work in FA (but NOT in FAF).
Ploppy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Jan 2019, 23:34
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Ploppy

Re: Questions related to UI modifications

Postby Anihilnine » 13 Jan 2019, 22:44

Ok that sounds good. I don't know the issue then. I know the FAF team moved some files around so even if the icon path was definately right for FA, doesn't mean it is still right.

I am away from a PC for 2 weeks so I can't help, but if you posted your mod, someone would look.

Have you looked at the log file for clues
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 262 times
Been liked: 388 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Next

Return to Mods & Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest