How do I not overbuild power?

Moderator: PhilipJFry

How do I not overbuild power?

Postby Evan_ » 18 Nov 2016, 17:32

I often watch casts or replays of pros and when I take a look at their power income, their power is just barely balanced, perhaps at -17 and shooting back up a bit when air production pauses. I can usually balance the bars for the first few minutes, but the transition from t1 to t2 and from t2 to t3 seem to sting the most.

Replay of my most recent ladder game is 5416101 (I waited until I won a game so I don't appear like a total noob). I was fine for the middle part of the game, but for the rest was either stalling or massively overflowing.
Evan_

Has liked: 65 times
Been liked: 80 times
FAF User Name: Evan_

Re: How do I not overbuild power?

Postby nine2 » 19 Nov 2016, 12:21

My non-pro advice:

Techniques to not overbuild:

Know how much power to build in the first place (one pgen for each fac, 4 for each air, 3 for each pair of building engies)

Only build a small amount of power at a time (like 4 pgens) - Don't make a line of 100 pgens

Be aware of the trap. The problem is you are crashing -150 power ... you already have two engies making power so if they stopped you really need less. If you smash out more pgens quickly it will look like you need 400 power. Dodge the trap by rushing 5 pgens and then re-evaluating. Or pause air and build 5 pgens more slowly. Or rush 2 pgens then build 3 slowly.

If you are already balanced then its not hard to say how much power you need... if you decide to build 3 more land facs you need 3 more pgens. If you get a lot of reclaim you need X more pgens. At each point when you are already balanced, it's not that hard to guess what you need for your next step. It's only when you are in a massive power stall that its hard to work out exactly how much power to build to get you out of it.

Techniques to fix it after you overbuild: