Map Editor FAQ

Interesting mapping tools and mapping help.

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby Lionhardt » 05 Mar 2015, 14:55

woah, never thought of looking into the prefs. Thanks, good call!
Help me make better maps for all of us, visit my Mapping Thread.

Maps needing gameplay feedback:
Spoiler: show
[list updated last: 31.1.2018]

(maps available in the vault)

- Hexagonian Drylands
- Fervent Soil and Torrid Suns
User avatar
Lionhardt
Contributor
 
Posts: 1062
Joined: 29 Jan 2013, 23:44
Has liked: 187 times
Been liked: 142 times
FAF User Name: Lionhardt

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby speed2 » 28 Mar 2015, 14:23

Since it took me quite a lot time to find and I havent seen it here yet, I post it here before I put all information on wiki.
How to enable all strata 5-8

Krapougnak wrote:I'm not sure if understood correctly all that was going on in this thread but I'll give you this little piece of information from old GPGNet forum, to enable all 9 strata different terrain shaders have to be used. Go into "Lighting" layer => Open "Lighting properties" and in "Terrain shader" select TTerrainXP instead of TTerrain. But beware this changes the way the map looks ... or i should probably say it may change the way it looks ... all depends on the other lighting settings you have there. TTerrain is overal more "glossy", experiment with it a bit ...

I don't know if this was useful, if you already knew it or if even it was what you were asking anyway I hope this bit of information is useful to someone ;)
User avatar
speed2
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 15:11
Has liked: 524 times
Been liked: 991 times
FAF User Name: speed2

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby spice » 23 Dec 2015, 12:32

How can I find the editor? The viking website seems to be dead.
spice
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 27 Aug 2015, 11:59
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 2 times
FAF User Name: spice

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby speed2 » 23 Dec 2015, 12:36

spice wrote:How can I find the editor? The viking website seems to be dead.

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3026#p30006
User avatar
speed2
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 15:11
Has liked: 524 times
Been liked: 991 times
FAF User Name: speed2

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby spice » 23 Dec 2015, 18:11

speed2 wrote:
spice wrote:How can I find the editor? The viking website seems to be dead.

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3026#p30006

I only have Forged Alliance, will this still work?
spice
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 27 Aug 2015, 11:59
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 2 times
FAF User Name: spice

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby PsychoBoB » 23 Dec 2015, 19:55

I think you'll need a Vanilla version to get the map editor running.
If you fear the dark you have never seen what light can cause!
PsychoBoB
Priest
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 12 Sep 2011, 09:25
Has liked: 142 times
Been liked: 25 times
FAF User Name: McNeil

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby watermelon » 25 Dec 2015, 10:39

spice wrote:
speed2 wrote:
spice wrote:How can I find the editor? The viking website seems to be dead.

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3026#p30006

I only have Forged Alliance, will this still work?

No you need Supreme Commander: http://wiki.faforever.com/index.php?tit ... ting_Tools
You need Supreme Commander for making maps, Map Editor is not working just with Forged Alliance.
User avatar
watermelon
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 05 Jul 2015, 18:05
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 4 times
FAF User Name: watermelon

Map cut off

Postby n3roxis » 06 Mar 2016, 02:10

Two of my maps are cut off under a certain height but only if i launch them in game.
How can i fix this?
Spoiler: show
Image
n3roxis
Crusader
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Mar 2016, 19:58
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 10 times
FAF User Name: Neroxis

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby speed2 » 06 Mar 2016, 02:23

You have too big differences in heights, probably some absurdly high hills. Recuding the height is the best solution. Alternative one is here: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=8439&p=79786&hilit=black#p79739
User avatar
speed2
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 15:11
Has liked: 524 times
Been liked: 991 times
FAF User Name: speed2

Re: Map Editor FAQ

Postby TazzyUK » 07 Jun 2016, 04:26

Finally: There has been a problem with the people who have downloaded supcom through steam. The map editor won't allow you to do anything (I think). The discussion was in this thread: http://www.faforever.com/forums/viewtop ... f=2&t=2579


Was the thread/topic moved somewhere else? as this link no longer works.
I have the steam version of SupCom, SupComFA Installed & the disk versions (not installed) so if need to, can put the disk version of SupCom on for any map making attempts but if it's a simple workaround to use the steam version, I'f rather do that.
User avatar
TazzyUK
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 29 Nov 2014, 06:37
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: TazzyUK

PreviousNext

Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest