Changing map size of existing map

Interesting mapping tools and mapping help.

Changing map size of existing map

Postby xiphias » 02 Aug 2018, 09:19

Hi, new to this forum and FAF :)

I have downloaded and played a map called "survival_mayhem&bo_3d_v1.v0067", I really like it but I want to make it larger.

I have downloaded the map editor and opened the map, works fine.
I went into the "Survival_Mayhem&BO_3D_V1_scenario.lua" file and changed the sieze from 512,512 to 1024,1024, when I open it in the editor after that, the map is larger but I can't seem to create any new land over all the water.

Is it even possible to change the size of an existing map? Or am I missing something? :P

Thanks in advance!

Edit: I tried to just remove some water from the map without changing the size in the .lua, then the map becomes unplayable, I get LUA errors when trying to open it again.

Edit 2: Infact, I noticed that just opening the map and saving it without doing any changes to it makes it unplayable, and getting LUA errors when trying to open it again.
Anyone know what you have to do to be able to just edit this map? :P
xiphias
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Aug 2018, 09:14
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: xiphias

Re: Changing map size of existing map

Postby ozonex » 02 Aug 2018, 19:56

Sounds like map has syntax error in Lua files, so editor can't parse it correctly.

Try download WIP3 of the new build of map editor, that fix that errors before loading map.
https://github.com/ozonexo3/FAForeverMapEditor/releases
FAF Map Editor Alpha v0.604 > Get it now!
User avatar
ozonex
Priest
 
Posts: 353
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 20:11
Location: Poland
Has liked: 188 times
Been liked: 246 times
FAF User Name: ozonex

Re: Changing map size of existing map

Postby Sprouto » 02 Aug 2018, 22:24

Even if you're not throwing errors, changing a map size is not just as simple as editing the dimensions.

I'm going to assume you really want to just scale up the existing map ? or do you really wish to create entirely new and additional terrain around the existing map ?
Sprouto
Priest
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 08 Sep 2012, 05:40
Has liked: 53 times
Been liked: 71 times
FAF User Name: Sprouto

Re: Changing map size of existing map

Postby xiphias » 03 Aug 2018, 13:17

@ozonex: Ah, alright, I will try that one out, see if it fixes the errors :)

@Sprouto: Both alternetives would work for me :P If one is easier than the other, I would go for that solusion.
The best would be if I could make a new map of my own, and "import" the survival-aspect of the other map :P If that is possible
xiphias
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Aug 2018, 09:14
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: xiphias

Re: Changing map size of existing map

Postby DDDX » 04 Sep 2018, 11:12

Or you could work with me on this issue, ya know...the guy who created that version :p
I also would not mind having a bit more additional terrain around it.

P.S. it's v73 now, but it still needs some work, I expect versions 80+ will be the final ones.
DDDX
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 16:13
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 6 times
FAF User Name: DDDX


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest