Scathis.

Re: Scathis.

Postby Pathogenic » 21 Feb 2013, 20:02

If the shield nerf from the last patch is reversed, then the Scathis will be a lot more bearable.

Still, seems odd that a unit that does 3.5 times the damage of a T3 arty costs about 30000 less mass. It does not have the range of a T3 arty, true, but it is also mobile and can be moved into range if need be. It also has more HP than the other T3 arty.
Pathogenic
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 06 Sep 2011, 05:23
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time

Re: Scathis.

Postby Ze_PilOt » 21 Feb 2013, 20:56

I will say it again : It's not because the T3 arty are broken that the scathis needs to be broken too.
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Scathis.

Postby Myxir » 21 Feb 2013, 21:35

Ze_PilOt wrote:I will say it again : It's not because the T3 arty are broken that the scathis needs to be broken too.


exactly this


t3 arty is a huge waste of mass right now, because it's very easy to counter with shields for less than half the costs, while the shields also protect against bombers, tml, etc

t3 arty needs either more damage or lower buildcosts, but the scathis would be useless if it would cost more than 80~90k mass
Unhappy with balance http://i.imgur.com/q5G2BlM.png
User avatar
Myxir
Evaluator
 
Posts: 788
Joined: 09 Apr 2012, 14:01
Has liked: 93 times
Been liked: 301 times
FAF User Name: Washy (irc)

Re: Scathis.

Postby Pathogenic » 21 Feb 2013, 23:19

Ze_PilOt wrote:I will say it again : It's not because the T3 arty are broken that the scathis needs to be broken too.


Then perhaps T3 arty needs a buff. I've long thought it did. How about decreasing firing time for T3 arty by half and keep dps the same, by decreasing damage per shot in half? Currently a lot of the front loaded damage from arty is wasted on breaking the last few hp of a shield bubble. In some cases a T3 arty (Aeon) cannot break even a T2 shield because the shield recharge rate (the time it takes for bubble to come online again) is less than the time between shots.

I would also be in favor of maybe 10-15% lower build costs.
Pathogenic
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 06 Sep 2011, 05:23
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time

Re: Scathis.

Postby Ze_PilOt » 21 Feb 2013, 23:20

Won't be for this time, you can propose a change for them in 3 months.
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Scathis.

Postby noms » 22 Feb 2013, 01:13

I will have new proposed numbers shortly.
noms
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 02:29
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 1 time
FAF User Name: noms

Re: Scathis.

Postby Ze_PilOt » 22 Feb 2013, 01:13

The vote is currently running, too late.
But you can keep it for the balance test period if the voted changes are proven bad.
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Scathis.

Postby noms » 22 Feb 2013, 03:08

If the shield nerf from the last patch is reversed, then the Scathis will be a lot more bearable


I did tests with the previous shield a few months ago and it easily got through 5+ overlapping sera T3 stationary shields.

Another option would be to nerf the DPS to around ~700 but this will depend on how stationary shields perform in the next patch.
noms
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 02:29
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 1 time
FAF User Name: noms

Re: Scathis.

Postby noms » 22 Feb 2013, 12:05

hmm should have made it

90-100k mass
1350k energy
noms
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 02:29
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 1 time
FAF User Name: noms

Re: Scathis.

Postby monty » 22 Feb 2013, 13:43

pilot why not make scathis range adaptable according to size of the map. for example if the map is 10x10, scathis have range of 100, on 20x20 maps range should be 200
monty
Crusader
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 10 Oct 2011, 18:18
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Patch 3622

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest