Details on the indiegogo campaign

Details on the indiegogo campaign

Postby Ze_PilOt » 20 Dec 2012, 11:46

I will try to start with "why asking for money ?".

I always put my money where my mouth is. I've said many times in the past that GPGNet was not as good as it could be, and that it was rather easy to do better. So I did it.

You have to understand that I'm not a programmer per se. I do it in my work, but it's not my main job. I do programming because I'm willing too, because it amuses or help me.

FAF was a hobby. The initial roadmap was a 3 years plan. It was a project made for the one that were willing to use it and agree on the initial promise (originally, being able to play 3603 games easily).
Then in the middle of the alpha, GPGNET went down.

People came in FAF not because they want it, but because they have to. That's a very different environment, and it put a lot of pression on us.

While it was great feeling that FAF was used by so much people, it was way too early in the development.
We had to rush things, and from a personal hobby project, it become something people feel they own and deserve.

It was okay before to shut down the server for half a day to work on a feature. It wasn't after. Everything had to work all the time, and it's very hard to achieve that while you are still heavily changing the code.

The initial 3 years plan was finally done in less than 7 months, with 3 more months for finalizing and smooth some corners. I hopefully had the help of great programmers like Raging and Thygrrr, but you can imagine the amount of work that was pulled off in such short timing. But overall a really great experience with a really great ending (thanks to Gowerly :)

But it exhausted me, and I've promised myself to just maintain FAF after the release, dropping further plans (like GW). I couldn't manage it.
Even maintaining it is a lot of work. A lot of people have requests, problems, questions, it's a lot of work that I can't even keep up.