Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Anihilnine » 25 Nov 2014, 16:06

Can Notha and Ahwassa please be given the BOMBER category like all of the other bombers?

I am trying to write a selection hotkey to select all fighters (excluding t2 bombers and ahwassa).

Is this the right place for this sort of request?

Blueprint ids:
XSA0202
XSA0402
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2139
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 248 times
Been liked: 370 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Sir Prize » 25 Nov 2014, 16:39

You can exclude the Ahwassa by adding a "BUILTBYTIER3FACTORY" qualifier. Would be great to set up a hotkey that didn't include fighterbombers though.
User avatar
Sir Prize
Evaluator
 
Posts: 531
Joined: 24 May 2014, 10:29
Has liked: 59 times
Been liked: 85 times

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby lextoc » 25 Nov 2014, 16:42

I think it's great fighterbombers get selected with bomber keybinding. However, when pressing all air fighters (I use this for interceptors, ASF, swift wings) also the corsairs or whatnot get selected, that is quite annoying sometimes (when planning a desperate snipe :lol: )
I'm watching you!
User avatar
lextoc
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 18:08
Has liked: 287 times
Been liked: 226 times
FAF User Name: lextoc

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Anihilnine » 25 Nov 2014, 16:44

Thanks Sir. I am trying to make a hotkey for t1 interceptors, asf and swift winds... so at the moment I exclude ahwassa by excluding EXPERIMENTAL. Not great though.

Don't have a solution for Notha yet.

Here's what I'm using:

UISelectionByCategory("AIR HIGHALTAIR ANTIAIR", false,false,false,false)
SelectUnits(EntityCategoryFilterOut(categories.BOMBER + categories.EXPERIMENTAL, GetSelectedUnits()))

Lextoc - I'm actually doing this to keep my corsairs out of my air fights
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2139
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 248 times
Been liked: 370 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby lextoc » 25 Nov 2014, 16:44

Ok, great! :)
I'm watching you!
User avatar
lextoc
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 18:08
Has liked: 287 times
Been liked: 226 times
FAF User Name: lextoc

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Sir Prize » 25 Nov 2014, 16:51

partytime wrote:Thanks Sir. I am trying to make a hotkey for t1 interceptors, asf and swift winds... so at the moment I exclude ahwassa by excluding EXPERIMENTAL. Not great though.

Don't have a solution for Notha yet.

Here's what I'm using:

UISelectionByCategory("AIR HIGHALTAIR ANTIAIR", false,false,false,false)
SelectUnits(EntityCategoryFilterOut(categories.BOMBER + categories.EXPERIMENTAL, GetSelectedUnits()))

Lextoc - I'm actually doing this to keep my corsairs out of my air fights

Ah much more advanced than me, I didn't know how to filter out. I just have:

['Select all fighters'] = {
order = 2,
action = 'UI_SelectByCategory AIR HIGHALTAIR ANTIAIR BUILTBYTIER3FACTORY',
category = 'Custom Keys'
},

Which leads to Corsairs in dogfights as well :(. Would love the categories to work a bit better and to have a functioning key for this. Might have to open a github issue? I guess the workaround is to steal your order and not use Sera :P

Edit - except I don't know how/where to paste in your seriously different syntax without breaking my game.prefs :(
User avatar
Sir Prize
Evaluator
 
Posts: 531
Joined: 24 May 2014, 10:29
Has liked: 59 times
Been liked: 85 times

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Anihilnine » 25 Nov 2014, 18:42

Sir Prize wrote:Edit - except I don't know how/where to paste in your seriously different syntax without breaking my game.prefs :(


you need to make a mod at this point ...

i would say it is easier if you just wait for me to do it :)

but first we need blueprints fixed
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2139
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 248 times
Been liked: 370 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Sir Prize » 26 Nov 2014, 12:32

I was going to try and muck around with hotbuildex in the vault, which allows you to create new categories for hotbuild, to see if I could stumble my way in to a solution, but if you're already on it I might hold off. Have you looked at this mod?
User avatar
Sir Prize
Evaluator
 
Posts: 531
Joined: 24 May 2014, 10:29
Has liked: 59 times
Been liked: 85 times

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby IceDreamer » 27 Nov 2014, 03:52

https://github.com/FAForever/fa

Fork, make a new branch, make the changes, make a pull request of the branch to the default :) People will be around to help if you need it, but this kind of simple change you can simply make, PR, and if your case is solid (I think it is), it will probably be merged!
IceDreamer
Councillor - Game
 
Posts: 2566
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 07:01
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 445 times

Re: Please add BOMBER category to two air units

Postby Anihilnine » 27 Nov 2014, 05:11

Ok thanks IceDreamer. How do I know that I haven't created a bug though? Don't really know what the ramifications of my change are... so it feels irresponsible to just commit it blindly
Anihilnine
Moderator
 
Posts: 2139
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 248 times
Been liked: 370 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Next

Return to Contributors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest