Unit DB

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Unit DB

Postby arkitect » 16 May 2014, 13:00

Hi All,

I started playing faf recently, and having not played FA for years, and wanting to learn unit stats, costs etc I hit the Unit DB. I have found it a bit slow to find units, so I have whipped up a concept which I think makes the DB a lot easier to use and would appreciate any feedback on it.

It's by no means completed, not all the units are in there (some 503 errors on current unitdb, haven't got proper data access or anything) and I've intentionally left a lot of the details out for proof of concept.

the main things are:
- Unit data in popup rather than separate page
- Units grouped by type rather than race, I think this makes them easier to find.
- Compare function which does basic stats comparisons. nothing fancy.

so if you have a few minutes check out unitdb.solarflare.co.nz and post constructive feedback here.
(won't let me post links)
arkitect

Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 81 times
FAF User Name: arkitect

Re: Unit DB

Postby pip » 16 May 2014, 13:32

Hi Solarflare, it looks very handy. Do you absolutely need the current unit DB or would you be able to directly use units blueprints (bp) to generate your DB?

As for feedback, I would advise to use the blue colour (or another colour) when you compare units costs, because green is already use to indicate the production output in FA (+2 in green = it produces 2 mass per second).

Also, is it easy to add some additonal infos (like tooltip to describe a unit's role)?
pip
Supreme Commander

Has liked: 191 times
Been liked: 86 times
FAF User Name: pip

Postby arkitect » 16 May 2014, 13:40

good point about the blueprint files - it was faster to grab some data off the current db so I just did that. But of course using the bps would be better...

If the data is available there's no reason it can't be included
arkitect

Postby pip » 16 May 2014, 13:53