Fixing the com upgrade bug

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby ColonelSheppard » 13 Dec 2012, 12:49

So as most of you probably already heard, there is a bug in the game that allows you to upgrade your commander for nearly not costs. This works like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mB52mOvC ... e=youtu.be

1. get you commander damaged
2. start repairing it with engines (-4 engery and -0.X mass on t1)
3. start and uprade and pause it on the commander
4. engines will finish the upgrade for the cost of the repair so you can easily get microwave lazor or res upgrade

HOW TO FIX:

that the big question i ask myself since quite a while:

a)
hardcore workaround: make all engines near to the commander completely lose any kind of commands by just ordering to "stop"
b)
as the first one would surely piss of many soon i think we have to go to the core of the problem: make engines restarting their support beam like they should do whenever the activity of the commander changes
c)
set the commanders buildtime to"ver low" again (step back, worst solution)

this thread is there to discuss the FIXING of the bug, and NOT for use (meaning abuse) reporting!
i will post my so far coding solutions later when i put finally together my main PC again
User avatar
ColonelSheppard
Contributor
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 12:54
Location: Germany
Has liked: 154 times
Been liked: 165 times
FAF User Name: Sheppy

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby Combo » 19 Dec 2012, 21:13

Worth pointing out that this bug doesn't affect mex's.

In other words repairing a mex with engies then starting an upgrade doesn't make it free. That's the correct behavior of course.

If the code is similar then perhaps someone can copy/paste the mex upgrade code over to the acu upgrade code -- that's probably oversimplified but it's a start (and wouldn't need any of the 3 drastic changes suggested by Sheppard).

The key difference is that the engies assisting mex's will briefly stop their beam then restart it once the upgrade command is issued. That's the solution.
User avatar
Combo
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 02:26
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: theCombo

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby ColonelSheppard » 19 Dec 2012, 21:23

upgrading mexes or fabs does not seem to be the same like a com upgrade
User avatar
ColonelSheppard
Contributor
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 12:54
Location: Germany
Has liked: 154 times
Been liked: 165 times
FAF User Name: Sheppy

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby Combo » 19 Dec 2012, 21:36

It seems that fixing this the right way (making engies restart their beams) is quite involved.

As a quick-fix solution, TA4LIFE suggested adjusting the ACU repair cost so each assisting engie spends -750 nrg, which would punish eco enough to deter anyone from doing this. This seems like it would be an easy to implement solution. :idea:
User avatar
Combo
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 02:26
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: theCombo

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby ColonelSheppard » 19 Dec 2012, 21:50

Combo wrote:It seems that fixing this the right way (making engies restart their beams) is quite involved.

As a quick-fix solution, TA4LIFE suggested adjusting the ACU repair cost so each assisting engie spends -750 nrg, which would punish eco enough to deter anyone from doing this. This seems like it would be an easy to implement solution. :idea:


you obviously did not read my post
and restarting beam does not change anything
User avatar
ColonelSheppard
Contributor
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 12:54
Location: Germany
Has liked: 154 times
Been liked: 165 times
FAF User Name: Sheppy

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby pip » 19 Dec 2012, 21:58

As a temporary solution, I suggest one of these two "hotfixes":

1) Choosing values for the ACU so that repairing it with t1 engies cost the same as assisting a RAS upgrade:

BuildCostEnergy = 5000000,
BuildCostMass = 250000, (from 18 000)
BuildTime = 50000, (from 6000000)

T1 engies will consume 25 mass and 750 energy. That is the exact value required to assist a RAS upgrade. If that happens, players will immediately know they have to look at the engies assisting their ACU.

2) Just revert back the buildtime of the ACU to 60000 (from 6000 000 000) so that it costs a shitload of energy to repair the ACU, thus making it a warning to stop then re assist the ACU. This fix involves no mass consumption so it's less punishing for the eco of someone accidentally doing it. This is the c) solution mentioned by Sheppard.

GPG used the 2nd solution for many years, I think we should just go back to it and that also makes ACU repairing not profitable at all (they have regen already, or upgrades, they don't need to be repairable). I am very much for going back to the 2nd "hotfix".
pip
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1826
Joined: 04 Oct 2011, 15:33
Has liked: 191 times
Been liked: 86 times
FAF User Name: pip

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby Ze_PilOt » 19 Dec 2012, 22:13

Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby Combo » 19 Dec 2012, 22:14

Good news -- ZeP strikes again and fixed the bug. Awesome and great job. It will be in the December patch.

PS - for that patch to be released it needs testing (seton/shield replays).
User avatar
Combo
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 02:26
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: theCombo

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby pip » 19 Dec 2012, 22:20

Zep, la classe belge. 8-)
pip
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1826
Joined: 04 Oct 2011, 15:33
Has liked: 191 times
Been liked: 86 times
FAF User Name: pip

Re: Fixing the com upgrade bug

Postby Ze_PilOt » 19 Dec 2012, 22:24

For the record it took me 5 min. I guess we REALLY lack coders for FA :(
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Next

Return to Contributors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest