Fixing the Stealth radius

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Fixing the Stealth radius

Postby ColonelSheppard » 18 Sep 2012, 19:02

the "COUNTERINTELOVERLAY" class seems to be bugged, i noticed that this can only be change by superhard workaround with multiple ghost units with stealth around the original unit (it lags like wtf if you got 10 of them)

cause of that i suggest another workaround: using the "Buildrange" ("REPAIR") overlay instead (it has a quite similar colour but ofc you can not enable it by the global overlays)

would work like that:

Categories = {
'PRODUCTSC1',
'SELECTABLE',
'BUILTBYTIER2FACTORY',
'BUILTBYTIER3FACTORY',
'CYBRAN',
'MOBILE',
'LAND',
'TECH2',
'INTELLIGENCE',
'COUNTERINTELLIGENCE',
'OVERLAYCOUNTERINTEL', //get rid of that one
'VISIBLETORECON',
'RECLAIMABLE',
'REPAIR', //ad this
},


Economy = {
BuildCostEnergy = 800,
BuildCostMass = 80,
BuildTime = 400,
MaintenanceConsumptionPerSecondEnergy = 25,
MaxBuildDistance = 17.5, //ad this
TeleportEnergyMod = 0.15,
TeleportMassMod = 1,
TeleportTimeMod = 0.01,
},

and set this from 18 to:

Intel = {
RadarStealth = true,
RadarStealthFieldRadius = 20,
SonarStealthFieldRadius = 20,
VisionRadius = 16,
},

pros:
a circle displayed sowing the correct stealthradius
stealthradius would be as big as suposed to be (18)

cons:
you cannot enable "counterintelligence" as global overlay anymore (means you have to click the unit if you want to see the circle)
the colour of the circle will be the one of the buildradius (it's a similar colour but not the same)


my own opinion is that it is logical that if you have ONE circle around a stealthfield, it's the stealthcircle and not a buildrange circle

ofc the stealthfield can not build support or repair something although it has a buildrange then :mrgreen:
User avatar
ColonelSheppard
Contributor
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 12:54
Location: Germany
Has liked: 154 times
Been liked: 165 times
FAF User Name: Sheppy

Re: Fixing the Stealth radius

Postby Kryo » 19 Sep 2012, 10:18

this cannot be done as a UI mod only, can it?
Kryo
Evaluator
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 12 Sep 2011, 15:13
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Kryo

Re: Fixing the Stealth radius

Postby Ze_PilOt » 19 Sep 2012, 10:44

You forgot that the SCU got a steath field AND repair abilities.
Nossa wrote:I've never played GPG or even heard of FA until FAF started blowing up.
User avatar
Ze_PilOt
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 8985
Joined: 24 Aug 2011, 18:41
Location: fafland
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 376 times
FAF User Name: Ze_PilOt

Re: Fixing the Stealth radius

Postby pip » 19 Sep 2012, 11:11

The Cybran SCU has only personal Stealth. It could be interesting to give it an AOE stealth at some point in the future, but it's not the case for now. And if it ever becomes the case, the stealth radius could just match the buildrange for conveniency.
pip
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1826
Joined: 04 Oct 2011, 15:33
Has liked: 191 times
Been liked: 86 times
FAF User Name: pip

Re: Fixing the Stealth radius

Postby ColonelSheppard » 19 Sep 2012, 13:49

pip wrote:The Cybran SCU has only personal Stealth.

that one


Kryo : if anybody could tell me how to make a totally new overlay i will do... that was my first idea, but i didn't find a way to do this
User avatar
ColonelSheppard
Contributor
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 12:54
Location: Germany
Has liked: 154 times
Been liked: 165 times
FAF User Name: Sheppy

Re: Fixing the Stealth radius

Postby noobymcnoobcake » 19 Sep 2012, 17:41

I would like to give the ED5 shield stealth under it because at the moment there is almost no reason to upgrade from the ED4. Will add to faction diversity without affecting balance much because Cybran shields suck hard and a single scout will still counter it.
User avatar
noobymcnoobcake
Evaluator
 
Posts: 672
Joined: 17 Sep 2011, 16:34
Has liked: 16 times
Been liked: 5 times


Return to Contributors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest