When weapons don't fire

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Re: When weapons don't fire

Postby Uveso » 06 Aug 2018, 01:53

Lets say you have a ship with a flare antimissile system.
The antimissile flare weapon is attached to the ShipBone "FlareBone".

If you now change the flare weapon with a nuklear launcher that was attached on the old unit at bone "NukeBone",
then you need to rename the bone from the launcherblueprint from "NukeBone" to "FlareBone".
Thats all, the weapon should work now.

Now you want to attach a weapon turret to the same place.
A Weapon turret has 3 bones; "PitchBone", "YawBone" and "MuzzleBone".

Because the ship has only 1 available bone for the weapon, you can't add that weapon there.
In this case you need a 3d model program and add 2 more bones or it will not work.
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1230
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 45 times
Been liked: 186 times
FAF User Name: Uveso

Re: When weapons don't fire

Postby stardust » 06 Aug 2018, 17:24

Hmm, I had a feeling that was it. So let's say I copy the weapon code from another unit and copy-paste it into my prototype. As long as I preserve the muzzle bone from the original, I SHOULD be able to get it to work without having to use a 3D modeling program, correct? Even if I just use the weapon itself without the turret?

*tries it*

Shucks, didn't do anything. MOST INTERESTING. It didn't break anything at least!
User avatar
stardust
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 23 May 2018, 01:25
Location: Canada, eh.
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: stardust2101

Re: When weapons don't fire

Postby Uveso » 07 Aug 2018, 01:16

Yeah, modifying an existing model can be harder then creating a unit from scratch :)
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1230
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 45 times
Been liked: 186 times
FAF User Name: Uveso

Re: When weapons don't fire

Postby Franck83 » 07 Aug 2018, 07:48

Blender is a nice 3D editor. It's free and you have plugins to import and export supcom 3D models.
Alliance of Heroes Mod is out ! Try it ! It's in the Mod Vault !
User avatar
Franck83
Priest
 
Posts: 414
Joined: 30 Dec 2016, 11:59
Location: France
Has liked: 71 times
Been liked: 78 times
FAF User Name: Franck

Re: When weapons don't fire

Postby stardust » 08 Aug 2018, 00:40

I tried blender, couldn't figure out how to use it to save my life! And maybe it was something I was lacking, but I could only ever see a tiny portion of an imported model, on the rare occasion I was able to import successfully! Between that, and several other CAD programs, I basically stick with coding. Though not for lack of trying! About the only CAD program that makes sense to me is the Lego one. Stud.io is what it's called, but that's probably because it has preset shapes to use, and intuitive visuals. :P
User avatar
stardust
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 23 May 2018, 01:25
Location: Canada, eh.
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: stardust2101

Previous

Return to Contributors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest