[Alpha 0.604] FA Forever Map Editor

Post here if you want to help developing something for FAF.

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby ozonex » 16 Jul 2018, 14:04

ockey wrote:This program goes only on x64?
I have x32

Yes, it requires 64bit system, and DX11
FAF Map Editor Alpha v0.604 > Get it now!
User avatar
ozonex
Priest
 
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 20:11
Location: Poland
Has liked: 192 times
Been liked: 253 times
FAF User Name: ozonex

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby PsychoBoB » 16 Jul 2018, 15:09

First of all: Thank you ozonex for your great work!

But i have a problem adding more starting positions to an existing map, in my case "Mezmerising Paradise".
If i add two or more starting positions and save the map then i don't have any starting positions at all when i test the map in SC:FA.
I can open it in the skirmish lobby, but i don't see any entries in the list for the players.

This is what i do (roughly):
- Open the map
- add two preset starting positions
- change the name of the dummy ACU markers to ARMY_09 and 10 (symbols change to ACU symbol)
- add the armies to the list of armies
- save the map

Even if miss something on the new Armies, why do i loose the other eight?

Can someone give me a hint what's wrong?
If you fear the dark you have never seen what light can cause!
PsychoBoB
Priest
 
Posts: 391
Joined: 12 Sep 2011, 09:25
Has liked: 149 times
Been liked: 29 times
FAF User Name: McNeil

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby ozonex » 16 Jul 2018, 18:20

PsychoBoB wrote:First of all: Thank you ozonex for your great work!

But i have a problem adding more starting positions to an existing map, in my case "Mezmerising Paradise".
If i add two or more starting positions and save the map then i don't have any starting positions at all when i test the map in SC:FA.
I can open it in the skirmish lobby, but i don't see any entries in the list for the players.

This is what i do (roughly):
- Open the map
- add two preset starting positions
- change the name of the dummy ACU markers to ARMY_09 and 10 (symbols change to ACU symbol)
- add the armies to the list of armies
- save the map

Even if miss something on the new Armies, why do i loose the other eight?

Can someone give me a hint what's wrong?


To add armies, you just need to add more armies in Map/Armies under FFA team and their name need to be unique. Make sure you don't have extra_armies named the same way or it will conflict.

Then, when you have army, add blank marker and name it the same way. It change icon, when it finds any army with that name. There is nothing more to be done. If you lost armies, then it looks like you somehow breaks configuration of armies in scenario.lua

Try again following these instructions. If it still now working then send me your map on PM and I will take a look.
FAF Map Editor Alpha v0.604 > Get it now!
User avatar
ozonex
Priest
 
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 20:11
Location: Poland
Has liked: 192 times
Been liked: 253 times
FAF User Name: ozonex

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby bigcrap757 » 30 Jul 2018, 02:36

I don't know how to set the correct file for the map path, whatever I do it just says the data is not present. I got it working before but forgot how.
bigcrap757
Crusader
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 20 Aug 2013, 03:19
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 8 times
FAF User Name: bigcrap757

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby ozonex » 30 Jul 2018, 20:15

bigcrap757 wrote:I don't know how to set the correct file for the map path, whatever I do it just says the data is not present. I got it working before but forgot how.

The only thing you need to set up to make it working is to provide it game installation path in Edit/Preferences.

Then just click File/open and select your map

Read more here:
https://wiki.faforever.com/index.php?ti ... references
FAF Map Editor Alpha v0.604 > Get it now!
User avatar
ozonex
Priest
 
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 20:11
Location: Poland
Has liked: 192 times
Been liked: 253 times
FAF User Name: ozonex

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby bigcrap757 » 02 Aug 2018, 04:26

ozonex wrote:
bigcrap757 wrote:I don't know how to set the correct file for the map path, whatever I do it just says the data is not present. I got it working before but forgot how.

The only thing you need to set up to make it working is to provide it game installation path in Edit/Preferences.

Then just click File/open and select your map

Read more here:
https://wiki.faforever.com/index.php?ti ... references


My preference for the installation path is this: C:\Users\chaun_000\Documents\My Games\Gas Powered Games\Supreme Commander Forged Alliance

does it need to be something else?
bigcrap757
Crusader
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 20 Aug 2013, 03:19
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 8 times
FAF User Name: bigcrap757

Re: [Alpha 0.603] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby ozonex » 02 Aug 2018, 08:31

bigcrap757 wrote:
ozonex wrote:
bigcrap757 wrote:I don't know how to set the correct file for the map path, whatever I do it just says the data is not present. I got it working before but forgot how.

The only thing you need to set up to make it working is to provide it game installation path in Edit/Preferences.

Then just click File/open and select your map

Read more here:
https://wiki.faforever.com/index.php?ti ... references


My preference for the installation path is this: C:\Users\chaun_000\Documents\My Games\Gas Powered Games\Supreme Commander Forged Alliance

does it need to be something else?

Yes, it need to be to where the game is installed. Usually is somewhere in c:/program files/[gaspoweredgames or steam/apps]
FAF Map Editor Alpha v0.604 > Get it now!
User avatar
ozonex
Priest
 
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 20:11
Location: Poland
Has liked: 192 times
Been liked: 253 times
FAF User Name: ozonex

Re: [Alpha 0.604] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby ozonex » 08 Aug 2018, 08:32

v0.604
- Terrain: Editor will now thrown an popup if imported heightmap RAW file is in wrong size
- Water: Fixed undo for water settings
- Water: Fixed wrong default path and file name when importing or exporting water settings
- Markers: Splitted AI markers into few categories
- Markers: Few new marker icons: Combat zone, Defense point, Protected experimental, expansion area
- Markers: Added 2D markers in Edit/Preferences, they sale with camera distance to be better visible.
- Markers: Added new layers: Combat, Defense, Expand, Protected Experimental
- Markers: Removed NavalRallyPoint layer and merged it with RallyPoint layer
- Markers: Added Objective marker
- Markers: Added hard fix for wrong syntax in marker values in save.lua
- Markers: Fixed marker rotations
- Markers: Added option to align camera marker to the current view
- Markers: Fixed undo for camera marker
- Units: Added field that displays group and army of selected unit
- Units: Added name field for changing unit names
- Units: Groups now update when re-parenting
- Units: Unity army color now update when re-parenting
- Units: Added unit tarmac textures
- Units: Fixed unit not reappearing after undoing removed group
- Unit Browser: Fixed wrong name of Seraphim faction
- Brush: Added new Noise brush [by Spy Emanciator]
- Input: Fixed crash on entering incorrect characters in int input fields
- Input: When entering incorrect value in float input fields they will show last good value instead of 0
- Files: Added support for scmap file formats older than v56 (they are converted to v56)
- Files: Blocked "save as new version" when map is not loaded

Marker improvements
I worked with guys from LOUD project with improving AI markers in editor.
Image

Tarmacs and units
Finally added tarmacs under buildings. There are also some fixes and improvements for units.
Image

Download
https://github.com/ozonexo3/FAForeverMapEditor/releases/tag/v0.604-alpha

Image
Last edited by ozonex on 08 Aug 2018, 09:48, edited 1 time in total.
FAF Map Editor Alpha v0.604 > Get it now!
User avatar
ozonex
Priest
 
Posts: 356
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 20:11
Location: Poland
Has liked: 192 times
Been liked: 253 times
FAF User Name: ozonex

Re: [Alpha 0.604] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby Sprouto » 08 Aug 2018, 08:49

Thanks again Ozonex - your work is outstanding and those of us with the LOUD Project thank you wholeheartedly.
Sprouto
Priest
 
Posts: 351
Joined: 08 Sep 2012, 05:40
Has liked: 54 times
Been liked: 72 times
FAF User Name: Sprouto

Re: [Alpha 0.604] FA Forever Map Editor

Postby watermelon » 10 Aug 2018, 13:43

How do I remove mountains? I want to get a flat terrain of fixed height.

EDIT never mind, someone explained me already, you can set the "Max height" in Terrain / Heightmap to the desired level.
User avatar
watermelon
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 05 Jul 2015, 18:05
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 4 times
FAF User Name: watermelon

PreviousNext

Return to Contributors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest