notifications!

Everything about mods can be found here.

Moderator: Morax

Re: notifications!

Postby Myxir » 04 Aug 2015, 14:04

uploaded Notifications v5.0 v5 to the vault
download from the vault, press the Server Search button to see it.

the mod now requires Common Mod Tools V1

it's not necessary to update as there are almost no new features, it's just a bunch of minor fixes and transitioning work (to common mod tools)

additions:
- unit command notification: now informs about dead units

some fixes:
- changing the text and order of some ingame preferences options
- unit command notification: units which finished their orders get properly removed from the to-check table
- acu under attack notification: shield not hardlocked to a fixed value anymore, but also using the changable value (from the ingame preferences menu -> script_acu_under_attack.lua)
- HQ done / mex upgrade done no longer pick randomly t2 or t3 when the mex is instantly going for the next upgrade, but the one it actually upgraded to

other:
- selectHelper.lua is now abandoned in favor of Common Mod Tools V1 by Crotalus, functions that are not provided by it were put into notificationUtils.lua
- the project is finally on git https://github.com/Bra1nwash3d/reminder
Unhappy with balance http://i.imgur.com/q5G2BlM.png
User avatar
Myxir
Evaluator
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 09 Apr 2012, 14:01
Has liked: 94 times
Been liked: 306 times
FAF User Name: Washy (irc)

Re: notifications!

Postby Dragonfire » 26 Sep 2015, 14:51

This mod is awesome!!! Very good work.

I think this is very useful for beginners.

Is it possible to add more options for beginners?
OPTIONAL: This set options are toggleable (expert vs beginner mode).

e.g.
  • You have no radar
  • You hav no tml
  • You have T3 Mex but no Mass Storage

I am not sure if this are in general usefull
e.g.
  • You still have T1 Mexes in minute x
  • You silll have T2 Mexes in minute x
  • You reached not T2 state after x
  • You reached not T3 state after x
My native language is not english, please correct me, because I want to improve my skills # Resource Overview
User avatar
Dragonfire
Evaluator
 
Posts: 559
Joined: 19 Dec 2013, 10:18
Has liked: 39 times
Been liked: 61 times
FAF User Name: Dragonfire

Re: notifications!

Postby Myxir » 16 Dec 2015, 15:20

i've uploaded notifications v5.1 to the vault, it's only about increasing performance, no additional features
Unhappy with balance http://i.imgur.com/q5G2BlM.png
User avatar
Myxir
Evaluator
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 09 Apr 2012, 14:01
Has liked: 94 times
Been liked: 306 times
FAF User Name: Washy (irc)

Re: notifications!

Postby nine2 » 29 Dec 2015, 13:57

Found something cool - maybe it can help you be fantastic. Do you know in a UI mod you can add decals onto the map itself? Like how mex/hydro/splats go on the map.

Image

Image

Code:

Code: Select all
   local wv = import('/lua/ui/game/worldview.lua').GetWorldViews()["WorldCamera"]; 
   local posA = wv:Project(u:GetPosition())


   local UserDecal = import('/lua/user/UserDecal.lua').UserDecal
   local s = UserDecal{}
   local t1 = '/textures/ui/common/game/economic-overlay/econ_bmp_m.dds'
   local t2 =  '/env/utility/decals/objective_debug_albedo.dds'
   s:SetTexture(t2)
   s:SetPositionByScreen(posA)
   local w = 40
   s:SetScale(VECTOR3(w,w,w))
nine2
Councillor - Promotion
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 285 times
Been liked: 515 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: notifications!

Postby nine2 » 30 Dec 2015, 07:02

Another thing is you can work out what fac is upgrading to what fac with this (instead of same position check)
Code: Select all
         if v:IsInCategory("STRUCTURE") then
            local f = v:GetFocus()
            if f ~= nil and f:IsInCategory("STRUCTURE") then
               v.isUpgrader = true
               v.upgradingTo = f;
               f.isUpgradee = true
               f.upgradingFrom = v;
            end
         end
nine2
Councillor - Promotion
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 285 times
Been liked: 515 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: notifications!

Postby Myxir » 30 Dec 2015, 09:59

Anihilnine wrote:Another thing is you can work out what fac is upgrading to what fac with this (instead of same position check)

yea i considered doing something with that, but when when the fac is done upgrading, either an upgraded factory or nothing takes its place, so imo the position check is at least not a bad idea. i don't think that your code works once one unit is dead (factory finished upgrading), but might test the idea out

about the position marker, i think it would be great to show where valuable units were lost (omni, SMD, maybe others in the future), i'll get to do that in a week or so :)
Unhappy with balance http://i.imgur.com/q5G2BlM.png
User avatar
Myxir
Evaluator
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 09 Apr 2012, 14:01
Has liked: 94 times
Been liked: 306 times
FAF User Name: Washy (irc)

Re: notifications!

Postby nine2 » 30 Dec 2015, 14:49

omg I've just been debugging my mod doing crazy stuff for two hours and it was YOUR MOD :). Although I had common tools downloaded, I didn't have it active - which is a requirement or crazy pants happens. Cheers
nine2
Councillor - Promotion
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 10:10
Has liked: 285 times
Been liked: 515 times
FAF User Name: Anihilnine

Re: notifications!

Postby Sir Prize » 30 Dec 2015, 15:16

Hey Washy, seeing as you're playing with this mod again, I don't get a sound when I set a notification to play noises - just a silent ping. It's not just me, I asked someone else to test and they didn't get them either.

EDIT: Is it worth making either the noise or the ping different to a ping you might get from a teammate? I'm not fussed I 1v1 pretty much exclusively.
User avatar
Sir Prize
Evaluator
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 24 May 2014, 10:29
Has liked: 77 times
Been liked: 91 times
FAF User Name: Sir-Prize

Re: notifications!

Postby Myxir » 30 Dec 2015, 15:35

Anihilnine wrote:omg I've just been debugging my mod doing crazy stuff for two hours and it was YOUR MOD :). Although I had common tools downloaded, I didn't have it active - which is a requirement or crazy pants happens. Cheers

sorry to hear, a bit funny though xD

Sir Prize wrote:Hey Washy, seeing as you're playing with this mod again, I don't get a sound when I set a notification to play noises - just a silent ping. It's not just me, I asked someone else to test and they didn't get them either.

EDIT: Is it worth making either the noise or the ping different to a ping you might get from a teammate? I'm not fussed I 1v1 pretty much exclusively.

yes the code to play sounds is there, i just have not bothered to tell the mod which notification plays which, might get to do that (or have someone else to do that for me, that's more likely :))
first comes fixing the smd/omni lost notification though, worked fine in tests, but watching petric's stream hurts me :oops:
Unhappy with balance http://i.imgur.com/q5G2BlM.png
User avatar
Myxir
Evaluator
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 09 Apr 2012, 14:01
Has liked: 94 times
Been liked: 306 times
FAF User Name: Washy (irc)

Re: notifications!

Postby Axle » 30 Dec 2015, 23:28

Great mod. I have one suggestion - player can create alarm clocks for himself during the game at various places on the map. Once expired, he gets a ping at that location to remind him of something he wanted to do.

example: player decides to pause some engies that are building pgens because his energy is a bit excessive for the moment. he creates a 2min alarm at that location and then goes off to micro some stuff. In two minutes time he gets a ping at the location, which reminds him to reassess his energy needs again.
Axle
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 93
Joined: 02 Apr 2013, 10:14
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 4 times
FAF User Name: Axle

PreviousNext

Return to Mods & Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest