What I need to do to make a balance mod

Everything about mods can be found here.

Moderator: Morax

What I need to do to make a balance mod

Postby Gerfand » 16 Aug 2014, 23:33

I want to start making mods... and to start I want to balance a certain unit... I know that a balance is just change some numbers... but I don't know where they are and where I must put them.
...
User avatar
Gerfand
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 263
Joined: 23 Oct 2013, 02:39
Location: Brazil-Estado de São Paulo
Has liked: 27 times
Been liked: 7 times

Re: What I need to do to make a balance mod

Postby The Mak » 17 Aug 2014, 22:59

I suggest you download BlackOps Unleashed Balance Changes from the mod vault. The folder in your mod directory will be labeled BlackOpsBalance. Inside that folder take a look at any of the files that start with mod_units_ (open them with a text editor) to get an idea what you need to do.

To help you out, what specific unit and what exactly do you want to change?
User avatar
The Mak
Contributor
 
Posts: 342
Joined: 03 Mar 2012, 21:09
Location: New York, NY, USA
Has liked: 5 times
Been liked: 39 times
FAF User Name: The_Mak

Re: What I need to do to make a balance mod

Postby Gerfand » 18 Aug 2014, 00:20

I want to balance the Titan... making it to a Loyalist what a obsidian is to sera T-2 bot(less range{22}, more DPS{200} and HP{+200 to shield or armor})

EDIT- I remember that there a way to mod a unit while in game by cheating... and from what I remember I could not change it damage... everything but the damage
...
User avatar
Gerfand
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 263
Joined: 23 Oct 2013, 02:39
Location: Brazil-Estado de São Paulo
Has liked: 27 times
Been liked: 7 times

Re: What I need to do to make a balance mod

Postby The Mak » 18 Aug 2014, 01:56

Here is something to keep handy as well as this. More Goodies

Ok, so what you need is a folder and two files.
Create a folder and name it appropriately.
Inside the folder create two files:
mod_info.lua
mod_units.bp

Open mod_info.lua, and copy the below code into it.
Code: Select all
name = "Name that will appear in Mod Manager"
uid = ""
version = 1
description = "Description that will appear in Mod Manager, limit to 150 characters"

Make the changes above as you see fit. For the uid field, I use this online generator. Copy what is generated and place it between the quotes.

Really for a mod to show up in the Mod Manager all it needs is the uid. All the rest of the fields are just optional. Take a look at some other mods to see what else they throw in there.

Here is what you need for the mod_units.bp file
Code: Select all
UnitBlueprint {
   Merge = true,
   BlueprintId="uel0303",# UEF T3 Heavy Assault Bot, Titan
   
   Defense = {
      Health = 2200,
      MaxHealth = 2200,
      Shield = {
         ShieldMaxHealth = 1200,
      },
   },

   Weapon = {
       {
         Damage = 50,
         MaxRadius = 20,
         RateOfFire = 3,
      },
   },
}


The values that are above is what the current values for the Titan are. For the health increase, you can either add it to the unit or its shield.

Modify the value after MaxRadius to change the range.

For the dps increase, you can decide whether you want a bigger punch or a faster rate of fire. To calculate dps it is Damage / (1/ RateOfFire). With the default values above it is 50 / (1/3) = 50 / 0.3 = 166.67 dps

Copy the folder containing the two files into your mod directory, and enable it in the mod manager.

Always look at other mods to learn how things are done.
User avatar
The Mak
Contributor
 
Posts: 342
Joined: 03 Mar 2012, 21:09
Location: New York, NY, USA
Has liked: 5 times
Been liked: 39 times
FAF User Name: The_Mak

Re: What I need to do to make a balance mod

Postby Gerfand » 19 Aug 2014, 02:44

thx for the help
...
User avatar
Gerfand
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 263
Joined: 23 Oct 2013, 02:39
Location: Brazil-Estado de São Paulo
Has liked: 27 times
Been liked: 7 times


Return to Mods & Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest