FA general modding questions

Everything about mods can be found here.

Moderator: Morax

FA general modding questions

Postby MattyWS » 11 May 2017, 18:05

Hello all! A small introduction... I'm new to these forums but certainly not to the game nor it's culture and origins. I've travelled from TAUniverse Where I reside as an admin and an active modder and I've been playing TA on and off since 1998, then continued to play SUPCOM and SUPCOM 2 on release. I'm impressed there's still a solid FA community. We've just passed SUPCOM's 10th birthday and we're about to hit TA's 20th this year!I recently started asking myself the question of TA vs SUPCOM as the be all end all RTS game/engine. ie, why TA over SUPCOM for some people. As such, I started finally looking into modding SUPCOM (took me a decade to start looking into this).

There's some decent documentation out there for editing or adding units but I was wondering about modding more than that, so I'm hoping you guys can answer some of my questions so I can hopefully start wrapping my head around a few things. I am not a total noob to all of this, as game developemnt is my full time job (which I gained as a career with no qualifications thanks to modding TA!), so don't worry about keeping things too simple. :) The more info the better!

First question! I've used a 'hook' folder to successfuly edit some unit's .bp files within my own mod, however I'm trying to edit some strategic icons and using hook seems to not work for that? Am I doing something wrong? I've put the edited images within the same folder structure but just within hook instead but the game still uses the original icons. Is there a limit to this hook route? I plan on replacing a lot of images including map textures so I'm hoping that using a hook folder will just work as I'd rather not be replacing original files straight up if I can help it.