Need some tips.

Need help? This is the right place!
Note, reporting bugs and issues should be in the Tech Support forum!

Moderator: PhilipJFry

Need some tips.

Postby Hamstie » 26 Mar 2013, 22:31

After watching a lot of Gyle his casts I decided to give FAF a go. I started playing a few days ago so I still have much to learn. Currently I am hovering around rank 1000ish. So today I fought against M_Memto who is obviously a much better player than me. I felt like I didn't fare to bad but still lost decisively. Any tips would be helpful!

After watching the replay myself I felt my air (and eco) was really lacking. Should I set the air factory to patrol? Any other remarks?
Attachments
755894-Hamstie.fafreplay
Replay
(44.13 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
Hamstie

Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 1 time
FAF User Name: Hamstie

Re: Need some tips.

Postby Aulex » 27 Mar 2013, 04:58

Few things

2 engies on hydro or 1 engie/acu especially on a map like desert arena where there is loads of reclaim, you really want to get power up quickly because you'll be getting an insane amount of mass

You want to get more early facs up, if you're going to spam, commit to it, on a map like that you could probably support 20 factories

You need to expand to your mexes faster, it's not that big of a deal on a map like this but on other maps it could be that factor that let's you win or not

Slight micro suggestion, keep your tanks away from his acu unless you want to kill him, this keeps him from getting vet and keeps you from losing tanks

You need radar, you didn't have 1 radar at minute 10, this means you have no idea what's going on. At minute 10 m_memto got into your base because you had no idea he was coming, by the time he came in it was too late to respond

If you have lots of mass in the bank you need to spend it, get more factories up, upgrade mex, upgrade a factory, leaving mass in the bank is like wasting mass