Can't get SupCom to recognize my custom refresh rate

This is for troubleshooting of problems with the FAF client and Forged Alliance game.

Moderator: PhilipJFry

Can't get SupCom to recognize my custom refresh rate

Postby EmptySlot » 30 Sep 2018, 20:12

I overclocked my monitor to from 75 Hz to 84 Hz. Yet supcom just shows me option to set 60hz or75hz refresh rate. Is there anyway to force it to 84hz? Maybe with a commanline or something?
EmptySlot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Sep 2018, 19:06
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: EmptySlot

Re: Can't get SupCom to recognize my custom refresh rate

Postby Uveso » 30 Sep 2018, 21:29

Hello EmptySlot,

welcome to FAForever!

If you increase the frame time clamp, then you automatically reduce the simspeed. I hope you know that!

If you want to change the FPS then you can do this inside a script with this:
Code: Select all
ConExecute("SC_FrameTimeClamp " .. (1000 / fps))


if you want to type this to the console as command, then please write:
Code: Select all
SC_FrameTimeClamp 16.6


16.6 means that the game will render a frame every 16.6 miliseconds. This will make 60 frames per second (60FPS)

If you want to change the time clamp to fit 84 frames per second, then count 1000 / 84 = 11.9

So you need to write this for 84FPS:
Code: Select all
SC_FrameTimeClamp 11.9


(On my system i can't set the time clamp under 16.6, so please use 16.6 or higher for testing,
if a higer value works, then try 11.9 and see if it works for you)
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1788
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 70 times
Been liked: 291 times
FAF User Name: Uveso

Re: Can't get SupCom to recognize my custom refresh rate

Postby EmptySlot » 01 Oct 2018, 19:41

I doubt that will make my monitor do 84hz in-game (fullscreen). I propably need this too to get the correct FPS for 84hz, but I thought supcom supports at least VSYNC?
EmptySlot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Sep 2018, 19:06
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: EmptySlot

Re: Can't get SupCom to recognize my custom refresh rate

Postby Uveso » 02 Oct 2018, 17:03

You could try windowed mode and VSYNC. (it does not only works in fullscreen)

This is the consolecommand for VSYNC: (0=off, 1=on)
Code: Select all
SC_VerticalSync 1
User avatar
Uveso
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 1788
Joined: 11 Dec 2015, 20:56
Location: Germany
Has liked: 70 times
Been liked: 291 times
FAF User Name: Uveso


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest