How to counter monkeylord rush?

General Discussions about The Nomads.

Moderators: Softly, pip, Brute51, CookieNoob, JJ173, Moritz

How to counter monkeylord rush?

Postby benikens » 26 Nov 2013, 03:15

So I started playing again for the first time in years last week and we had a lan, played for a couple days straight. Problem lies in one of my friends always turtles and ramps out a monkeylord then sneaks it in my base to kill my ACU. Perhaps my strat in general is flawed, I usually have 2 factories early spamming t1 then build more and upgrade to t2 spam some more then roll over to t3 spam some more. When he walked his spider bot in I had like 20 or so of the siege assult bots but they just got zapped by the lazer and then he hit my ACU and I'm dead. I didn't really have much defence though. Will t3 PD hold it off? or should I get like a squadron of air specifically to nail it, seems like its his only play. I can definitely beat him down by just rushing but the guys I play with hate that.

Is there an optimum build order to ramp to tech 4 fastest? cause I feel like my eco is behind his and I can't get out a tech4 in time to fight his, but it might just be cause I spend the game building armies and attacking while he sits back and waits.
benikens

Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 11 times
FAF User Name: Benikens

Re: How to counter monkeylord rush?

Postby Pierto » 26 Nov 2013, 03:52

There are many ways to counter it and all of them require good scouting or an omni sensor (since the monkey has stealth). I used to struggle with this as well so I calculated some counters (I assume you play UEF):

- 10 Percivals are able to stop a monkeylord but you have to line them up perfectly so they shoot at the monkeylord together (I actually calculated this with the stats from the previous patch but I assume dps is still the same).